F50 hardwiring issue

marcowme

Reaction score
Country
Italy
I've had my mechanic hardwire a Thinkware F50 to my 2014 VW Polo with the Thinkware hardwiring kit.

He din't use fuse taps but hardwired the cables "to the back of the fuses".

The dashcam turns on and off with the car and records regularly but doesn't go into parking mode.

The parking mode option is enabled in the settings.

I'm unable to see where the three wires end up but he showed me with a tester that the fuses he used are igniton switched for the acc cable and constant power for the battery cable.

What should I do?

[UPDATE][SOLVED] Swapping the wires made it, big thanks to everyone.

Last edited:
I'm not familiar with your unit. I suspect the unit uses "constant" power to operate and switches to parking mode upon loss of "ignition" power, but again, I have no experience with yours.

Of the four models I've used, instructions for all are near cryptic and I only achieved desired settings through trial and error. You may have all external wiring correct, but menu settings may not be aligned to your desired configuration.

After eliminating menu configurations, I suggest removing the unit and bench testing with 12V power sources to rule out issues with the unit.

After eliminating the unit from the equation, I suggest testing for power provided by the hardwiring kit under running and parked conditions with a multimeter. Thinking I was saving effort, I hardwired into the dome light ground and then discovered the computerized controls used both the power and ground wires to operate the light.

If wiring is an issue, you may likely spend more time troubleshooting and correcting the issue than it would have taken to perform the install yourself, but unfortunately, dashcams are not as simple as accessory fog lamps and many service folks do not allocate sufficient time to understand nuances.

Hope this helps, good luck and keep us posted.