FUSE hardwire A118-C?

canadave

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Country
Canada
Hi, I just ordered an A118-C. I want to hardwire it to my 2009 Pontiac Vibe's fuse box rather than the car battery, using something like this:

http://thedashcamstore.com/advanced-dashcam-installation/

The only issue I have with that is, they're charging $55 for that kit. I'm sure I can do something similar cheaper, but I'm not sure what I need. Can anyone suggest a cheaper yet similar solution?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,675
Reaction score
28,781
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
if you just want to wire it to a switched circuit cheapest way is a female lighter socket to plug the included adapter into, a fuse tap for the positive wire, ring terminal for the negative, around $10 worth of bits from an auto parts store, $5 if you buy online and wait for delivery
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
9,246
Reaction score
7,963
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Yes
or one of these - i use a similar kit on my a118c:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00U2DGLCQ
just make sure you get MINI usb, not micro. micro is what most non-iphones use to charge and sync, but mini is a little larger and is what this dashcam uses.

i like to tap into the power window circuit (or sunroof if it exists) of a car when hardwiring since it's key-switched and can easily handle the small additional load of the camera.
 
OP
canadave

canadave

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Country
Canada
or one of these - i use a similar kit on my a118c:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00U2DGLCQ
just make sure you get MINI usb, not micro. micro is what most non-iphones use to charge and sync, but mini is a little larger and is what this dashcam uses.

i like to tap into the power window circuit (or sunroof if it exists) of a car when hardwiring since it's key-switched and can easily handle the small additional load of the camera.

Interesting. So if I bought that, and then also bought this: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/231718542270
then I could take the red wire of the Amazon converter, solder it to the ebay fuse adapter, and then take the black wire from the Amazon converter and ground it somewhere. Correct?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,675
Reaction score
28,781
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
That would work, keep in mind some of these cheap power supplies aren't great, the reason I suggested the female cig socket is so that you would be using the power supply the camera comes with which is at least a known model and going to be fine for the camera
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
9,246
Reaction score
7,963
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Yes
Interesting. So if I bought that, and then also bought this: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/231718542270
then I could take the red wire of the Amazon converter, solder it to the ebay fuse adapter, and then take the black wire from the Amazon converter and ground it somewhere. Correct?
i actually connected mine in the roof console above the rearview mirror. i used a test light to find the key-switched power supply wire to the sunroof motor/controller, then spliced the + lead directly into that, and chassis grounded the black wire. didn't have to run wires down the a-pillars near the side curtain airbags, didn't have to crawl under the dash, so install was much faster/simpler. and in the previous car that didn't have a sunroof, i tapped into the little "trip computer" in the roof console, since it was only live while the key was on.
 
Top