G-Sensor Sensitiveness

Gabolinche

Reaction score
Country
Mexico
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 V3, Mobius A-Lens, Powerucc Panorama II (RIP)
After upgrading to the newest firmware (v1.12.02), I finally remembered to activate the g-sensor this morning. I set it on low and it was triggered 5 times in my 6.5km commute. I must say, in my perception, it definitely is less sensitive than in previous firmwares, but it's still not a usable sensitiveness.

Maybe (as a suggestion to @Sungmoon Jang and possibly also @jokiin ) you can add an option that lets us users manually select the triggering values for the g-sensor. Since road and vehicle conditions vary so much around the world, users may need to personalize g-sensor triggering values more than just the usual 3 values: low, medium and high. Maybe add a fourth option like: low, medium, high and advanced. Once we select "advanced" then we can manually enter the triggering value or values.

I studied my recordings from this morning trying to find the values to offer an exact suggestion (with actual numbers), but what I found confused me. This is a graph from the values I'm seeing in Registrator Viewer:
GsensorPNG.PNG
I'm looking at g-sensor value (G), total acceleration vector (V), x-axis acceleration (X), y-axis acceleration (Y) and z-axis acceleration (Z). I found that the event I highlighted with a green oval did not trigger the g-sensor but the event in the red oval did trigger it. Why is that? If I'm understanding the graph correctly, the values in the green oval are higher (if positive) or lower (if negative) than the values in the red oval (with just one exception: the z-axis).

Anyway, without further understanding how a g-sensor event is triggered, I cannot offer an exact recommendation for triggering values.

Last edited by a moderator:
as far as the g sensor is concerned i think it would be good if the high settings were kept the same medium settings use the current low setting and low use lower settings than at present.