G1W Turn the screen off while recording?

Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
63
Likes
7
Country
United States
#1
Messed around in the menus for a while and I couldnt find the option. Anyway to do this?
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,274
Likes
6,188
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
#2
Messed around in the menus for a while and I couldnt find the option. Anyway to do this?
Plz clarify your issues.
 

kuoh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
610
Likes
307
Country
United States
#3
I believe he wants the LCD to turn off while recording so as not to provide a distraction while driving or to comply with local laws about having in car displays.

KuoH

Plz clarify your issues.
 

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,839
Likes
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
#5
I believe on the G1W it is called screen protect, but mine is in the car right now.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,274
Likes
6,188
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
#6
As I remember. G1W screen saver a( goes black ) minimum time is 3 min.
 

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,839
Likes
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
#7
As I remember. G1W screen saver a( goes black ) minimum time is 3 min.
Yes 3 mins is the minimum unfortunately. I wish it was something like 30 seconds.
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
E
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
63
Likes
7
Country
United States
#8
ahh...screen saver. thanks, makes sense. too bad its not always off, but at least now I will see that it is recording.

I may buy a cheap polarized screen protector off of ebay
 

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,839
Likes
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
#10
G1W is a great cam but would also like the option for the screen saver minimum to be less than 3 minutes. probably abt 1 minute - hopefully future upgrade if possible.
The firmware is not easily up-gradable on this device. I believe a member here flashed a firmware from a GT300W, but it is risky, and i don't know if the GT300W has a different minimum time
 

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,839
Likes
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
#12
It's the same minimum time on the GT300W (3min)
That's to bad. I might have considered the risk myself if it had a 30 second setting. 3 min minimum is way to long especially at night
 

Runed

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
United States
#13
For some reason my screen doesn't shut off when i set it to 3 minutes. I have the 2013.1017 firmware and under "screen protection" none of the options seem to to work. Does anyone know how to correct this?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
135
Likes
46
Location
Spain
Country
Spain
Dash Cam
G1W
#14
To turn the screen off it is on page 3 of the menu: "screen saver". it has 3 settings;- off -30 seconds -1 minute and 2 minutes.
 

Runed

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
United States
#16
Does yours shut off after 3 mins? Mine seems to just stay on and never shut off :(
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
59
Likes
9
Country
Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic Of
Dash Cam
G1W, A118/B40
#17
Does yours shut off after 3 mins? Mine seems to just stay on and never shut off :(
Not shut off, only shut off the screen and continue recording
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
135
Likes
46
Location
Spain
Country
Spain
Dash Cam
G1W
#18
There 2 things issues here. This thread was about the screen shutting of. To answer irononreverse I have 20130627.VO.01MM3 I should also make a further clarification on my post that the screen saver is actually on page 3 of the Set Up Menu not page 3 of the Video Menu.
To answer runed: The cam should do a complete shut down after the power is disconnected. I found this on page 1 of the Set Up Menu "auto power off". This can be set at; off - 3, 5 or 10 minutes.
What I have not got with my cam is the save file facility. I am meant to hit the mode button whilst videoing and it will save that file from begin over written . I was going to send it back because of this and the rattle. But as I cured the rattle I thought why bother.
 

Runed

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
United States
#19
Not shut off, only shut off the screen and continue recording
Mine apparently doesn't shut off no matter how many minutes I set it on, possibly a defective unit? Screen stays on for the duration of my drive.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
2
Likes
0
Country
Canada
#20
I was going to send it back because of this and the rattle. But as I cured the rattle I thought why bother.
How did you fix the rattle? Mine does the same thing and it annoys the hell out of me lol

Disregard. Found your post and sorted it out
 
Last edited:

Similar threads