GitUp F1: any good for dash cam use?

OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands
I tested a minimum date write of 10 MB/s. Card can't be the issue now?
 

Nigel

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
10,135
Reaction score
5,416
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Gitup F1, A129, B1W, B2W
I tested a minimum date write of 10 MB/s. Card can't be the issue now?
That would be 80 Mb/s. What bitrate are you using?

If you are using a modified firmware then it could easily be the issue.
Mine seemed to be beep free down to around 7 MB/s on standard firmware.
Of course you might have been lucky during your test and not found the slowest piece of the card.
 
OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands
That would be 80 Mb/s. What bitrate are you using?

If you are using a modified firmware then it could easily be the issue.
Mine seemed to be beep free down to around 7 MB/s on standard firmware.
Of course you might have been lucky during your test and not found the slowest piece of the card.
I'm on standard fw, newest I believe, let me check.... F1-V1.2-20180428
 
OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands
bitrate (Dutch, sorry, high lighted part)

Schermopname (2858).png

Shouldn't be a problem I guess.

But then again, we didn't have card issues with the Joovuu-x either, but stil stop/starts occured.
 

Nigel

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
10,135
Reaction score
5,416
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Gitup F1, A129, B1W, B2W
Should be OK, but maybe try a different memory card just to check, if the beeps disappear then it was the card.

I can't think of any other reason the F1 would beep and stop recording.
 
OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands
Should be OK, but maybe try a different memory card just to check, if the beeps disappear then it was the card.

I can't think of any other reason the F1 would beep and stop recording.
Me neither, it's weird and frustrating since I bought the Kodak 512GB especially to use the F1 in the car on 4K.

Card isn't even full, so looping hasn't started either.

Could it be out of F1 spec, size-wise (too big)?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,415
Reaction score
26,736
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Me neither, it's weird and frustrating since I bought the Kodak 512GB especially to use the F1 in the car on 4K.

Card isn't even full, so looping hasn't started either.

Could it be out of F1 spec, size-wise (too big)?
officially only supports 128GB, suspect the 512GB card is an issue
 
OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands
officially only supports 128GB, suspect the 512GB card is an issue
figured that.... no one uses bigger cards than 128gb? Then I shouldn't either.
 
OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands
Looks quite fast to me if the card was in the camera.

I normally use h2testw.exe to test the speed and watch the speed as it is running, the average at the end is interesting but it is the slowest bit that causes the beeps...
Here's my result:

Warning: Only 473842 of 473844 MByte tested.
Test finished without errors.
You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
Writing speed: 30.6 MByte/s
Reading speed: 51.6 MByte/s
H2testw v1.4

Schermopname (2862).png

Good card I guess...

BTW it was tested in a USB 3 card reader in a USB 3 slot in the PC.

A 64 GB U3 Kodak and 128 GB U3 Samsung EVO work without missing a beat.
 
Last edited:
OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands
OK, wifi for my F1 does not respond anymore, none of the wifi functions on display for that matter.

Anyone else have that ?? ??

What do I do? Return for warranty? It's just a few months old...
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
5,966
Reaction score
5,348
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
Yes, it's warranty time :( No cam that new should have such problems so whatever the cause, I'd want a new one.

Phil
 

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
3,722
Reaction score
3,448
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
F1C, SG9665GC, A129, A129 Pro, Mobius 1 x2
OK, wifi for my F1 does not respond anymore, none of the wifi functions on display for that matter.

Anyone else have that ?? ??

What do I do? Return for warranty? It's just a few months old...
What do you mean by it does not respond? Is the SSID still there? I usually have to 'forget' the network before I can 'reconnect' to it again.
 
OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands
What do you mean by it does not respond? Is the SSID still there? I usually have to 'forget' the network before I can 'reconnect' to it again.
Pressing the WiFi button on the camera does not turn on blue blinker. In the menu not one WiFi function respons to changes, on/off setting etc. Can't even switch between modes. All the rest works fine. Just WiFi is down.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,252
Reaction score
1,711
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Pressing the WiFi button on the camera does not turn on blue blinker. In the menu not one WiFi function respons to changes, on/off setting etc. Can't even switch between modes. All the rest works fine. Just WiFi is down.
Have you tried reloading the firmware?
 
OP
dirkzelf

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
791
Country
Netherlands

Supplier does not respond to my question about warranty repair.... what do I do now? Contact GitUp directly?
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
5,966
Reaction score
5,348
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
If it's still within warranty, Ebay and Paypal might do something for you. I'd see what GitUp has to say first.

Phil
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Z F1 13
TonyM F1 15
TonyM F1 105
TonyM F1 0
D F1 17
Top