Going from a G1WH to a Papago GS 520

Sprite23

Reaction score
Country
United States
Just a quick heads up, I am not a professional reviewer or anything like that, so please excuse my quality of pictures taken with my crappy phone. I'm not going to review so much the quality of the dashcam but hopefully help some people out thinking about coming from the G1W series dashcam.

Well, let's get on with this! I'm coming from a G1WH which was working great but I wanted a 2k dashcam and I happened to catch the GS520 for 147 on Amazon, it has since jumped up to 179. I had some concerns and after googling and searching this forum, I couldn't find many answers, so I'm going to try and put some information out there for anybody looking.

First off, the mount, I did not want to use a suction cup mount because I'm afraid it would fail in the heat. I wanted to use the same one I used with my G1WH, here it is
https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00KJTRKVY
Does it fit? No, no it does not. Will it fit with some modification? Yes, yes it will.
Here it is before modification
beforemod.jpg

Here it is afterwards
aftermod.jpg

It's not pretty, but it works! Basically I used a pair of sharp needle nose cutters and trimmed it a bit and took off the side clip because it was blocking the USB port. The result?

Rear
mounted.jpg
Front
mountedfront.jpg

It takes some muscle to get it to slide in, so if you're going to be mounting/dismounting the camera it's kind of a pain, but if you're not, it's great because it's pretty secure.

Next issue, I wanted a polarizing filter, I had a CPL on my G1WH and I wanted the same for this camera. I picked up a 30mm CPL made for another dashcam and used a glue gun to mount it to the camera. It's easily reversible and will not leave any permanent marks on the camera if you decide to remove it in the future.
Here is the CPL I bought, I got the link from LjKearny.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00QT3Q024