GPS stopped working - camera doesn't power on

CrimsonTwo

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
I can power the camera if I use the USB cable but not when I attach it to the GPS module. Happened all of a sudden. Has anyone had that happen?

I bought it from Amazon: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/B01IEQUABA What's the warranty on these cameras? How do I get the GPS module replaced?
 

borik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
896
Reaction score
362
Country
United States
Dash Cam
2 A119's, A119 Pro
some had this problem. GPS should work if you connect the power directly to a camera.
my 2 GPS units still work and I have the power connected to the cameras.
 
OP
C

CrimsonTwo

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
That's crappy; ideally I'd like to have the GPS unit replaced. I'll try testing by connecting directly to the camera but what I dislike with this camera is the side connection. My previous A118 had it on the top. With A119 the cables is awkwardly bent/looks ugly when connected.
 

borik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
896
Reaction score
362
Country
United States
Dash Cam
2 A119's, A119 Pro
you said your camera doesn't record if you have the power connected through a GPS module. you don't even know if it's a camera or a GPS fault.
about adapters / cables:
61YTYT9yRmL._SX425_.jpg
 
OP
C

CrimsonTwo

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
> you said your camera doesn't record if you have the power connected through a GPS module. you don't even know if it's a camera or a GPS fault.

I didn't say that; please re-read my original post. all I said was it doesn't power on when connected through the GPS module but it does work when plugged in directly.
 

borik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
896
Reaction score
362
Country
United States
Dash Cam
2 A119's, A119 Pro

BCHobbyist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
1,608
Reaction score
2,312
Location
Vancouver
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
A129Duo-8WL A119Pro-9Tm A119S-6Vk A119V3 GitUp G3+F1 DCTeam
I can power the camera if I use the USB cable but not when I attach it to the GPS module. Happened all of a sudden. Has anyone had that happen?

I bought it from Amazon: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/B01IEQUABA What's the warranty on these cameras? How do I get the GPS module replaced?

check the gold contacts for damage, clean them with swabs slightly moist with 70-90% isopropyl alcohol then view my GPS modification video

 
Top