Greenhorn Seeking Suggestions

claymoan

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey everyone,

I am new to the dashcam world, and would like to hear your suggestions/advice on which dashcam/setup to get. I drive a 2018 Honda Accord LX.

Someone recently removed my Honda Sensing Sensor (located in front grill of car), and the worst part of it was that I didn't know when it happened or who was responsible for it.

Any recommendations on what set-up would be a good fit? Ideally, I would want it to be able to capture front & rear during drives (to guard against irresponsible drivers/unforeseen instances which could help with insurance claims), and also act as a security "CCTV" (day + night) when not driving my car.

I have heard great things about the BlackVue DR650S-2CH, and I wanted to hear from the experienced community before making a decision. I read some reviews claiming that the BlackVue has some wifi/battery/power draining issues as well...

P/S: I live in Austin, TX. Based on Google search: Austin averages 16 days a year when temperatures reach 100 °F or more. Heatwaves with temperatures in the 100s typically occur anytime from June to September. Most summer days get to a least 90 degrees. And from April to October, Austin's temperature typically never goes lower than 40 °F.

Look forward to your valuable insight.

Cheers,
Clement

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2018-01-20 at 1.53.51 PM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2018-01-20 at 1.53.51 PM.jpeg
    188.8 KB · Views: 11
  • WhatsApp Image 2018-01-20 at 1.53.51 PM(1).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2018-01-20 at 1.53.51 PM(1).jpeg
    371.5 KB · Views: 11
I'm sure blackvue are capacitor cams which is good for high heat, and as for battery draining I think you can get a CellinkB or something similar that automatically cuts off when the car's battery drops to a certain voltage.

Is wifi a feature you actually need?