GS8000L firmware question if anyone can answer

Razer

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
56
Reaction score
30
Country
United States
Dash Cam
SG9665GC V1
Hello, I have recently received my first dash cam as a gift from my wife. I'm wondering if I need a firmware upgrade for any reason, I have a few things I'd like to change like the screen being on all the time and I was hoping an update might address that.

This is a GS8000L, 2-G9712-20131029 is the current firmware on the camera. I see there are two versions of this camera chipset so just trying to learn a bit on something I did not research before getting as a gift.

Video quality was much better than I expected, pretty good overall! I handle security cameras day to day, I have just over 1,000 cameras in both analog and IP that I do everything for and am in charge of purchasing and such on those so I understand cameras pretty well, just new to dash cams and learning quickly!
 

allenjamieson

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
i just attempted a firmware update on the same model, i now have a black screen :(
 

Matt789

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2013
Messages
124
Reaction score
6
Country
Australia
i just attempted a firmware update on the same model, i now have a black screen :(

All these cams have a reset button which is a tiny hole to push down a paper clip or pin to reset the cam.
Once that is done charge it back up then go into the menu and reset the cam in the settings then re do all the settings the way you want it set up.
 

Luis Dias

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Rio de Janeiro
Country
Brazil
Dash Cam
GS8000L (novatek nt96220 chipset)
Dear sirs.
I also bought a GS8000L (chipset novatek nt96220) that was freezing to much and I tried to upgrade the firmware with the file FW96220A.bin and now its not working. I got a black screen after some bip sounds. I have already tried to reset it several times, with no sucess....
Anyone has a "original" firmware so I can try to install it again?
Any ideas?
Tks
 

Matt789

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2013
Messages
124
Reaction score
6
Country
Australia
Dear sirs.
I also bought a GS8000L (chipset novatek nt96220) that was freezing to much and I tried to upgrade the firmware with the file FW96220A.bin and now its not working. I got a black screen after some bip sounds. I have already tried to reset it several times, with no sucess....
Anyone has a "original" firmware so I can try to install it again?
Any ideas?
Tks

Novatek chips are not at all reliable. They are cheap but not worth taking a gamble on. Go Ambarella for your next purchase.
Ambarella a7's are very good with the right firmware. Early firmware and the videos were very dull. Latest firmware and the night and day videos
are very good.
 

brower

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
Brazil
jokiin,

Do you know if there is a way to know the firmware that i am using in a GS8000L from novatek chipset? And where i can download the firmwares? (NT96220FG) Because it don't have the menu with the "version", i just opened my GS8000L and confirmed that is the novatek chipset that it uses. When i bought i didin't knew that there were many versions from this model (GS8000), like the ambarella's chipset.

Thanks for all the help.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,624
Reaction score
28,731
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
No idea, it's not a chipset I deal with at all, very rare for updates for anything based on this platform unfortunately
 

oluja

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Croatia
Dear sirs.
I also bought a GS8000L (chipset novatek nt96220) that was freezing to much and I tried to upgrade the firmware with the file FW96220A.bin and now its not working. I got a black screen after some bip sounds. I have already tried to reset it several times, with no sucess....
Anyone has a "original" firmware so I can try to install it again?
Any ideas?
Tks


I have this problem too :) .... You resolve your problem ?
 
Joined
May 4, 2015
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Country
Netherlands
Dash Cam
DOD LS430W
Both firmware "YND 2014.01.01-1" and "YND 2014.01.01-2"worked with this Chipset in my GS8000L :

Novatek
NT96220FG
1352-DS
PFRK41


 
Last edited:

jeebo

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

sorry to raise an old thread, but I am hoping someone may be able to assist. as per the OP I was running the same firmware in my GS8000L, it worked fine for a few weeks (had it fr a few years now!) and it was great, but then it stopped re-writing over the disk on loop record, and needed formatting every other day.

I browsed online and came across this forum for suggestions. I have downloaded the firmwares recommended above, ad in other threads. I got the black screen with beeps at first so figured I have the Novatek chips. I then took the Novatech firmwares as linked above, put them on the SD card, loaded it in and turned the camera on. All I get is a white screen for hours at a time! that is on both versions.

Possibly bricked my unit?

I also tried signing up to 3PPC.net to try and download additional firmware, but apparently President Vladimir Putin, Vladimir Putin, President Putin, nor Putin are currently the president of Russia :| go figure! - so I cant go on and download all the firmwares and just keep going till I get the right one.

How is the best way to resolve this? should I strip the cam, provde some details from within and get guidance, or should I be loading firmwares until one sticks?
 
Top