Hardwiring advice

madmednan

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. Have been reading the forums for the last few days for the wealth of info regarding dash cam install. This is my first attempted installation. I have the Blackvue 750s 2ch. I have tried to hardwire it. Please see the pic below.
For some reason, I can get it to stay on after a few minutes of turning off the ignition. The camera says, "entering parking mode" but then after a few mins it shuts down.

My car is a 2018 440i gran coupe. The fuses I checked after half an hour of the camera shutting dow and they seem live with the circuit tester. The accessory fuse turns off but back on when the car is restarted. I have not tried hardwiring it direct to the battery as I heard bad things about it.

Looking at my install, is there something I am doing wrong?

Attachments

• IMG_0608.JPG
    IMG_0608.JPG
    545.4 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_0603.JPG
    IMG_0603.JPG
    548.3 KB · Views: 43
Hi all. Have been reading the forums for the last few days for the wealth of info regarding dash cam install. This is my first attempted installation. I have the Blackvue 750s 2ch. I have tried to hardwire it. Please see the pic below.
For some reason, I can get it to stay on after a few minutes of turning off the ignition. The camera says, "entering parking mode" but then after a few mins it shuts down.

My car is a 2018 440i gran coupe. The fuses I checked after half an hour of the camera shutting dow and they seem live with the circuit tester. The accessory fuse turns off but back on when the car is restarted. I have not tried hardwiring it direct to the battery as I heard bad things about it.

Looking at my install, is there something I am doing wrong?
Some cars use a CAN bus type of fuse system where the BCM controls the power going to certain fuses. You might want to search around and see what fuses may have power cut to them due to the BCM controlling them. I hope this helps.