Has Anybody Hardwired their A118C to BMW E60?

Stuart Roberts

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Just a quick question, as I am looking for some advice on how to hardwire my A118C to my 2005 (55) BMW E60.

What is the best, cleanest, easiest, safest way?

Thanks

Stu
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,677
Reaction score
8,102
Location
Oakland Park, Florida (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
Check out the CELL POWER CPUSB01 hard wire kit. Be aware that some new BMWs will sense power load change and will throw a computer error. You may need to consult with your local professional car audio installation shop if you can't figure out which BMW power circuit is safe.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,614
Reaction score
6,503
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
Hardwiring to RVmirror autodimm / rain sensor loom is clean set-up and should not cause errors, but its always test n try with bmw.
 

KarmaM3

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
Hi,
Just a quick question, as I am looking for some advice on how to hardwire my A118C to my 2005 (55) BMW E60.
What is the best, cleanest, easiest, safest way?
Thanks
Stu
I just bought some varient of the A118 for my Truck, but I happen to have an E60 M5 that might get a dash cam if this one works out. I've hardwired both my my vehicles for various things, particularly, my radar detectors, so there are typically electronics that are usable up in the headliner.

One thing I will advise, your vehicle runs about 12-15VDC right off the tap. The A118 is USB and therefore requires 5VDC. If you hardwire without a transformer, you will fry your A118, that's why you have that cigarette lighter adapter with a red light on it. Assuming you're mechanically inclined, there's a plastic panel up by the sunroof, it contains the sunroof controls, map lights, bluetooth mic, etc. That will pop out and expose all the wiring. I don't know which 2 wires, off hand, try an internet search, or test the leads. You'll want to mount a small USB (12V to 5V) adapter up in there.
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,677
Reaction score
8,102
Location
Oakland Park, Florida (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
I just bought some varient of the A118 for my Truck, but I happen to have an E60 M5 that might get a dash cam if this one works out.

If you like the A118 and are ready to take things to the next level be sure to check out the SG9665GC
 
OP
Stuart Roberts

Stuart Roberts

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks. I have just ordered a glove box flash light for the charger down the. I'm going to adapt the torch to a female 12v lighter socket and route the dash cam cable to that.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,614
Reaction score
6,503
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
Thanks. I have just ordered a glove box flash light for the charger down the. I'm going to adapt the torch to a female 12v lighter socket and route the dash cam cable to that.


Thats also an interesting solution.
If in future you want to hardwire with clean set-up, I am going to stock CELL POWER CPUSB01 hard wire kit next month.
Below are pictures from typical BMW rain sensor where you can tap-in and hardwire a CELL Power 12v to 5v adapter for your A118.

a1.jpg

a2.jpg

a3.jpg

a4.jpg

a5.jpg

a6a.jpg
 

Hal1

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
32
Reaction score
6
Country
United States
Pretty simple, and under $18. I used this hardwire kit along with an add-a-circuit kit (just make sure its the right one-standard, mini, or mini low profile). With the Add-A-Circuit just find an ignition-on only item in your fuse box like power windows or radio, or you'll need to use the aforementioned low-voltage protected one for an always-on accessory.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00L3XXRI0
https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00SR5FLG8
 
Last edited:

Hal1

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
32
Reaction score
6
Country
United States
Good install. Doesn't anyone know if we need a add-a-circuit and mini-fuses to hardwire a dashcam? I'm thinking about just buying the hardwire kit from spytech and nothing more.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/B00MH4ZVHO
http://www.amazon.com/gp/B00LXH252U

You don't *need* the add-a-circuit, it just makes is a ton easier. The $30 hardwire kit is fine if you want an always-on cam. If you want an only on when ignition is on you can accomplish that for less than half the price. What you have listed here will work. Just make sure that it's a mini usb for the cam, and the low profile mini fuse add-a-circuit. however I don't see why you need a pack of 10, you can get just one or a couple.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00I0MWPXU
 

MoneyT8

Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
127
Reaction score
11
Country
United States
Dash Cam
A118C, G90
You don't *need* the add-a-circuit, it just makes is a ton easier. The $30 hardwire kit is fine if you want an always-on cam. If you want an only on when ignition is on you can accomplish that for less than half the price. What you have listed here will work. Just make sure that it's a mini usb for the cam, and the low profile mini fuse add-a-circuit. however I don't see why you need a pack of 10, you can get just one or a couple.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00I0MWPXU

I don't really need 10 just using as an example. For now I just want ignition on than dashcam powers on/off. So I really need a mini fuse add-a-circuit? I'll probably buy one just in case but I guess I can also put one up at an auto zone. There are many different kinds of add-a-circuits. Also worried about hardwiring would fry out my dashcam so does it have something to do with 5v or 12v?
 
Last edited:

Hal1

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
32
Reaction score
6
Country
United States
You could wire it somewhere in the fuse box but it's not worth the effort. The add a fuse at autozone/oreilly etc. cost about 6 bucks and sometimes includes a fuse. - otherwise you will need another small amp fuse. You can pull one out to see if it's the mini or mini low profile, or use the google. Then that $12 hardwire adapter includes the step down to 5V. The cord is 10 ft. which os plenty long enough to run up the a pillar.
 
Top