Head unit does not recognise the Dashcam

Hellzoner

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Lisboa
Country
Portugal
Hello everyone... I'm New here and i seriously hope that you gents can help me.
I recently aquired a China 2 Din rádio for my Mondeo and he works Fine until i bought a dashcam also from china... The problem is... The head unit does not recognise the camera... I conect It to the Head unit and... Nothing... I tryed to connect the dashcam ti a computer and inside It exists the files tô install... But on the head unit.... nothing... The dashcam does not apear on the udisk...
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
26,198
Reaction score
14,854
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
The problem i recon are probably that your headunit are a international model, and the camera are a China model, did you get the headunit from China too ?
The same problem are there in some dashcams, where they have a China model and a international model, and while the same look and hardware you cant just Dl any firmware to them.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,323
Reaction score
28,452
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
need some details of the headunit, pictures, wiring diagram etc, along with details of which dashcam
 
OP
H

Hellzoner

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Lisboa
Country
Portugal
I'm desperate.... Hope that you can help
( The usb2 is a pendrive ) the cam is not there...
 

Attachments

OP
H

Hellzoner

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Lisboa
Country
Portugal
In a computer i can see the files in the dashcam
 
OP
H

Hellzoner

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Lisboa
Country
Portugal
It records to the se card but i can't see any image even when take the as card from It

 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,323
Reaction score
28,452
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
It's a USB powered dashcam, there's no interface to your head unit via USB, if the seller told you that then you were mislead
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
7,121
Reaction score
6,308
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
Hopefully you can return the cam for a refund. AFAIK there are no dashcams which integrate with a head unit the way you described and most dashcam's ADAS functioning is not anything to rely on anyway. ADAS is best built into the car for several reasons.

Phil
 
OP
H

Hellzoner

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Lisboa
Country
Portugal
I'm a Noob in this matters...but thanks for the help
 

OzAdam

Active Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
114
Reaction score
85
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Viofo 4K A129 Pro Duo & A119 Pro
Hopefully you can return the cam for a refund. AFAIK there are no dashcams which integrate with a head unit the way you described and most dashcam's ADAS functioning is not anything to rely on anyway. ADAS is best built into the car for several reasons.

Phil
Kenwood do have a dashcam model that connects to its touchscreen head units for dashcam control and playback etc. with ADAS and so on. They call it "2-way communication with compatible KENWOOD high-end models."
In my part of the world they call the dashcam the DRV-N520 which integrates with the DNX9190DABS / DDX9019DABS headunits.

The dashcam doesn’t have great picture quality so its best to get a decent standalone model like a Viofo etc.
 
OP
H

Hellzoner

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Lisboa
Country
Portugal
But why does the camera is seen on a computer ( includind files and etc... ) And on a Android devices It doesn't???? Can anybody explain???
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
26,198
Reaction score
14,854
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
When you plug the dashcam into a computer with USB, it enter mass storage mode and act like a external hard / thumb drive, so you can move files to / from the camera ( often slow as cameras make slow mass storage devises.
I have seen cameras do under 20 MB/s transfer speeds, and then i take the memory card out and plug it into my card reader and get 70 - 80 MB/s speed.
I would assume it should do the same with Android or IOS, but thats maybe not the case.
Some cameras ( action ) you also have to select mass storage or is some canse you can also select webcam mode on the camera, in which case the camera will then act as you have selected, it is not all that go automatic into mass storage mode.
 
Top