Help me find the perfect Dashcam

Ormy

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'm new to the forum, asking for some advice on what would be the best dashcam for me. I have a quite a specific list of requirements, and also certain features I couldn't care less about.

Background: I'm an experienced driver with a mid-size hatchback in the UK.

Budget: no budget constraints but obviously don't want to spend more than I need to or pay lots for features I won't use. I will be wiring the dashcam into the cars power and ignition myself, I am experienced with car electrics.

MUST HAVE FEATURES:
  • Rear camera. By this I mean a separate unit that attaches to rear window, NOT a rear-facing camera on the unit attached to the front screen. Preferably this rear unit would have a WIRED connection to the front unit (there can be separate connections for power, don't mind), and videos from both front and rear units should be recorded on a single microSD card inserted into the front unit.
  • Large microSD capacity. I don't care if a microSD is included with the purchase, but the unit must support large capacity cards, definitely 64GB+, preferably 256+GB capacity.
  • Automatic recording. The dashcam must start recording automatically as soon as the ignition is turned on (obviously this will require a connection to the ignition circuit as well as constant power, not a problem).
  • Parking protection. Camera must auto-activate upon motion or shock while ignition is off (obviously will require constant power source, not a problem). Preferably this would also apply to the rear camera but not an absolute must. OR the unit(s) could just record a continuous time-lapse while parked, that would be fine instead.