Help with whitewashed license plate

j_fo

Reaction score
Country
United States
Folks, Im a newbie to the forum. I desperately need someone to help me with making out a license plate number that was whitewashed at night by my headlights. This is the first time I've actually needed my DR900S-2CH to perform for me, and it has failed so far. I was involved in an expensive sideswipe hit and run, and am relying on the dashcam to provide me with a license plate number so I can file my insurance claim. Does anyone have the tools to reduce the glare so I can read the license plate number?I can send the video file and a screenshot of the moment the dashcam should have caught the license plate number. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

I get that you can't post a full res screenshot here but that will be needed to make any sort of judgment call, might be better to just upload the video to a file host and provide a link

Not sure how to do that. I've used Google Drive and WeTransfer, but both require an email. Can you link me to a Youtube video on how to upload a video to a host file?

upload to somewhere like mega.co.nz mediafire.com filedropper.com etc, plenty of free hosts available

Thanks guys for your help. The wreck is at the 39 second mark. Attached is the link to download the file:

Last edited:
Here's the bookmarks I've got for the topic of vid enhancement and cleaning-
https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threa...can-make-out-license-plate.41704/#post-500432
https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threa...es-along-with-taking-video.36187/#post-486510
https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/i-wont-to-know-this-license-plat-numbers.27856/#post-321314
https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threa...h-more-details-from-night-video-footage.8255/

Not sure they will all apply- some may cover similar information. It's just what I've saved knowing that the search engine on this site is rather useless for it's intended purpose.

Phil