Hit and run question (UK)

joe384

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
2 x DR590W-2CH, Cellink B
In the case of a hit and run (after informing the police) should I contact the offenders insurance company and send them proof of the accident or should I get my own insurance company to chase them on my behalf? Are they obliged to do this?

I don't want to make a claim on my policy, but I don't want to get caught up in legal proceedings as I think there is a chance they may deny liability and push back as they'd have to admit the other driver didn't report it..

I am not an expert, but what I would expect, assuming you have comprehensive insurance, is:

Normally you would get your insurance to sort it all out, if you have good evidence and a police report then it should be straightforward.

Although you could go direct to their insurance, remember that you have to declare any claims to your insurance, and your insurance renewal will then be affected anyway. Their insurance is far more likely to fight you in the hope of you eventually giving up than it is to fight your insurer, some insurers may even force you to start a court case.

If you don't have good evidence then maybe forget about any claim, then your renewal will not be affected.
Are they obliged to do this?
They are obliged to sort the damage, it is up to them if they choose to chase the other insurance or not, but if there is good evidence then they will.

If the other person needs prosecuting, that is a police matter, not an insurance matter, insurance is only about making good the damage.

In the case of a hit and run (after informing the police) should I contact the offenders insurance company and send them proof of the accident or should I get my own insurance company to chase them on my behalf? Are they obliged to do this?