How to stop dashcam recording both HIGH and LOW resolutions

dangoodwin96

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

For some reason, my dash cam is recording HIGH and LOW resolution videos:

20/01/2018 11:38 LOW
20/01/2018 11:38 HIGH
(above are just examples)

Obviously this will take up space for the same video.

The dashcam is set to 1440p resolution on the settings.

Does anyone know how to stop it recording a high and low resolution, just the high resolutions?

See image

Thanks,
Dan Goodwin
 

Attachments

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,047
Reaction score
26,435
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
the smaller file is what you see when accessing via wifi, the larger files are not practical for wifi access
 
OP
D

dangoodwin96

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
the smaller file is what you see when accessing via wifi, the larger files are not practical for wifi access
cheers :) the WiFi setting is switched off. Why does it still record lower res even when wifi is off?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,047
Reaction score
26,435
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
cheers :) the WiFi setting is switched off. Why does it still record lower res even when wifi is off?
because you may decide to turn wifi on at any time to view files, if you only had the larger files you wouldn't be able to use the app as intended

there was some mention previously by the rep here that they were looking at the option of having no small file, need to be aware if doing it that way that it would limit the functionality of the camera/app

if the smaller files were disabled it's only going to add about 10 to 15 percent more recording time before recycling, not really a big deal in the scheme of things
 
OP
D

dangoodwin96

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
because you may decide to turn wifi on at any time to view files, if you only had the larger files you wouldn't be able to use the app as intended

there was some mention previously by the rep here that they were looking at the option of having no small file, need to be aware if doing it that way that it would limit the functionality of the camera/app

if the smaller files were disabled it's only going to add about 10 to 15 percent more recording time before recycling, not really a big deal in the scheme of things
Ah okay. So its intended functionality that it records both files?
 

Kremmen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
1,058
Reaction score
366
Location
West London & Reading
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 V3
If you find 2 files to be a card guzzler then you'll need to revert to firmware v 9.5

That's a good call about wifi on/off and dual files

I don't use wifi so have never turned it on so I only need the hi-res file
 

Engine1

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
7
Country
United Kingdom
It should be possible to disable these LO-files. It is such a waste of precious disk space if you don't want or need to use their WiFi-APP. I don't use this option and it is completely useless for me, as there is already a built-in screen on the dashcam if I should like to watch something right away. As well as with their forced logo I don't think they will allow the user to have any choice.
 

NextBase Support

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
1,301
Reaction score
399
Location
Caerphilly
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase
Sorry I'm only now seeing this - thank you @jokiin

We introduced this because the transfer over Wi-Fi was extremely slow in comparison to what customers were expecting. Yes you can go back to r9.5 if you're on a 412GW, I can send if you like?

The option to turn it on or off will be coming as not all customers use Wi-Fi.
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
22,753
Reaction score
12,738
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
The Joovuu X cam did the same at one time, but in the end the wifi low res files was filtered off the memory card.
The X cam like all others are also extremely slow on the wifi, but cant recall if it was faster when the low res files was there on the card too, i dident consider testing this as wifi to me are just a means of setup and aiming a dashcam.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,047
Reaction score
26,435
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
The Joovuu X cam did the same at one time, but in the end the wifi low res files was filtered off the memory card.
The X cam like all others are also extremely slow on the wifi, but cant recall if it was faster when the low res files was there on the card too, i dident consider testing this as wifi to me are just a means of setup and aiming a dashcam.
the low res files are much quicker, they're about 85% smaller, for anyone that wanted to view files via wifi it is a much better option to have those there, have to keep in mind that nobody wants to use wifi to access files until they need to use it, when you're standing on the side of the road trying to show the police officer what happened fast access becomes pretty useful
 

Luke9

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase 412gw
Any updates yet on when the new firmware will be released
 

Daniel31

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Country
Netherlands
Any update? I see version R16.2 was released but it doesn't seem to have any setting for this, looking at the description?

I just take out the micro-SD card and put it in a laptop if I want to see any recordings. No need for any WiFi trouble. I would really appreciate a way to disable the LO files!
 

NextBase Support

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
1,301
Reaction score
399
Location
Caerphilly
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase
Already there, its under the first menu 'dual files'
 

Daniel31

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Country
Netherlands
Confirmed as resolved, thank you. Your engagement on this forum is great.
 

NextBase Support

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
1,301
Reaction score
399
Location
Caerphilly
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase
Fantastic - you'll get more 'time' on the card now.

Thanks you're welcome.
 

ezeetrucker

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Lincolnshire
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a newby on here and it was this post that got me interested.
I have the nextbase 332GW and more than pleased with it, although the duel file thing was a bit of a bind.
I like
Daniel31
just put the SD card in my laptop.
So glad I found this solution to the duel file problem
Thanks
 
Top