Is it possible to have 2-channel 1080p dash cam systems based on supercaps (not batteries)?

Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
124
Likes
20
Country
United States
#1
I have read about the importance of supercaps to a dependable Parking Mode strategy. So my question: Does anyone make 1080p (or higher) 2-channel dash cams based on supercaps? I believe there are some 1-channel dash cams with supercaps, but I am only interested in 2-channel systems.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,347
Likes
6,242
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
#2
I have read about the importance of supercaps to a dependable Parking Mode strategy. So my question: Does anyone make 1080p (or higher) 2-channel dash cams based on supercaps? I believe there are some 1-channel dash cams with supercaps, but I am only interested in 2-channel systems.
There are few 2 x 1080p supercaps based dascham system ( mainly Korean made ), but their video quality is not that great due to hardware limitations. Check Lukas, Thinkware sub-forums.
 

DT MI

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
4,832
Likes
3,573
Location
Michigan
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Too Many - See Signature
#3
I have read about the importance of supercaps to a dependable Parking Mode strategy. So my question: Does anyone make 1080p (or higher) 2-channel dash cams based on supercaps? I believe there are some 1-channel dash cams with supercaps, but I am only interested in 2-channel systems.
Blacksys CF-100 is 1080 front but only 720 rear.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,347
Likes
6,242
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
#4
For 200 usd can get 4 channel system ( 2 x CF-100 ): 2 x 1080p front / rear + 2 x 720p sides. Supercaps, GPS, Parking mode. Reliable dashcam.
 
OP
OP
U
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
124
Likes
20
Country
United States
#5
Says HERE that rear is 720,,, but perhaps that's an older model or the info is obsolete.
Ouch! I was also hoping for something more discreet..but oh well, this is a starting point in this venture!
Also I think what niko is suggesting is to get 2 sets of 2-channel systems and use the one intended for the front of set #2 as a 1080p in the rear..in effect ending up with front 1080p, rear 1080, Right side 720p, Left side 720p. Is that really possible, to fool the system that way?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
40,059
Likes
20,573
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
#6
Also I think what niko is suggesting is to get 2 sets of 2-channel systems and use the one intended for the front of set #2 as a 1080p in the rear..in effect ending up with front 1080p, rear 1080, Right side 720p, Left side 720p. Is that really possible, to fool the system that way?
the system has no idea where you will use it ;)
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
8,285
Likes
5,701
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
(2x) A119, (2x) A118c, iTrue X3, Git1, Git2
#9
For 200 usd can get 4 channel system ( 2 x CF-100 ): 2 x 1080p front / rear + 2 x 720p sides. Supercaps, GPS, Parking mode. Reliable dashcam.
Only other thing you will need is a battery drain prevention device, since the cf100 will gladly run till your car battery dies if you hard wire it. But considering how cheap the cf100 is now, getting a battery protector isn't a big deal.
 
OP
OP
U
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
124
Likes
20
Country
United States
#10
the system has no idea where you will use it ;)
To extend that line of thought, in a 4-dash cam scenario, does that mean I could then, also take K1S set B front cam (13.3 VBR) and swap it set A rear cam (8.9 VBR) so that I could have front and rear at 13.3 BVR both while the sides are covered by the remaining 2 K1S dash cams each running at 8.9 BVR attached to set B's DVR?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
40,059
Likes
20,573
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
#11
To extend that line of thought, in a 4-dash cam scenario, does that mean I could then, also take K1S set B front cam (13.3 VBR) and swap it set A rear cam (8.9 VBR) so that I could have front and rear at 13.3 BVR both while the sides are covered by the remaining 2 K1S dash cams each running at 8.9 BVR attached to set B's DVR?
you can put them anywhere you like
 

Proghound

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
21
Likes
7
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Blacksys CF-100
#13
Apologies for the late reply, just found this thread as I'm not normally in this section.

I do wonder if @jokiin's reply was more to confirm that you're able to physically place the remotes wherever you like, rather than being able to run the two higher-bitrate remotes from the same DVR. Would the firmware on the DVR be able to cope with two higher-bitrate feeds? What about the card?

You could certainly have set A covering front and one side, and set B covering rear and the other side. AFAIK the rear (8.9) remote on a K1-S has an extra anti-glare coating on the lens because it will be facing directly into the headlights of cars behind you. But if you have a second unit to cover the sides, you'll probably also be getting more direct exposure to headlights on the driver's side than the passenger's side, because that's the direction the dipped headlights on the other cars are pointing at junctions and on motorways etc. So you might want to run set A front (13.3) & driver's side (8.9), and set B passenger's side (13.3) and rear (8.9). Then, if one DVR fails, with the remotes that way round you can easily reconfigure the sets so that you still have a front and rear as per the original design, without having to move the remotes themselves.

EDIT: Just thought some more about that, and now wondering what the benefit would be over just having one set for front & rear and the other set for the two sides. Possibly so that everything you could most easily see from the driver's seat is recorded to one card, with everything else to the other card? I guess it's a question of which two pairs of streams you'd prefer to have automatically synced up when reviewing footage (also in case of an incident).
 
Last edited:

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
40,059
Likes
20,573
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
#14
I do wonder if @jokiin's reply was more to confirm that you're able to physically place the remotes wherever you like, rather than being able to run the two higher-bitrate remotes from the same DVR. .
yes, that's what I meant, I can see how that could be misinterpreted though so thanks for pointing that out

You could certainly have set A covering front and one side, and set B covering rear and the other side.
yes, this is what I meant
 

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,840
Likes
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
#15
does that mean I could then, also take K1S set B front cam (13.3 VBR) and swap it set A rear cam (8.9 VBR) so that I could have front and rear at 13.3 BVR both while the sides are covered by the remaining 2 K1S dash cams each running at 8.9 BVR attached to set B's DVR?
Sorry for the late reply I just seen this, but I wanted to point out that at least when I tried it with a SH800 Dual for front and rear and a K1S for sides that the K1S tilts down too far to be a good side camera set up.
 

Similar threads

Top