Is this fixable or should I buy new?

DrMM

Reaction score
Country
United States
So, I am a complete dash cam newbie. I got a pretty basic Aukey dash cam as a present a few years ago. I set it up, put in a SanDisc SD Card, plugged it into a USB port and did nothing else over the last few years. I took out the SD card tonight because I was rear-ended a few days ago, and realized that not only was the accident file corrupted, about 25% of all the files on the card were corrupted. I tried a few different repairs (including Stellar Repair) and none of them worked. (Fortunately it doesn't sound like the other driver is arguing, but if they were, I would like some form of insurance).

So now I'm trying to figure out if I should just buy a new dash cam, or if a new SD Card would be enough. I'm not sure if this is because I just ignored the dash cam for quite a while or if it's a problem inherent to dash cams, SD cards, or Aukey's in particular.

Any advice would be helpful, thanks.

One of the more common failures with dash cams is their owners not periodically checking the recordings to insure they're OK before they're needed. This is not a lecture, just an acknowledgement that it happens quite often, unfortunately you learned this lesson the hard way - fortunately for you it sounds like the other driver isn't going to be a problem.

As to your specific problem the first thing I would look at would be the SD card itself to insure it's working properly. There are a couple of tools a number of members here use:

SD formatter from the SD Card Assn. - https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter/

H2Testw - https://h2testw.en.lo4d.com/windows