latest firmware

dave798

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
24
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
K1s , Mobius , SG9665GC
I have firmware r158 in my K1s but have come across this site http://www.innovv.com/#!the-k1/cm4l which is showing a firmware with r180 and wondered if this is the latest firmware and would it be worth updating and what if any gains should i expect to find. does anybody know if this r180 is the latest firmware or if there are any later versions and if so point me in the right direction to download them as the koonlung site isn't much help concerning firmware
 
OP
D

dave798

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
24
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
K1s , Mobius , SG9665GC
Anybody?
 

petepete

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
1,171
Reaction score
452
Country
United Kingdom
last time I looked the "update " you spoke of had a conversion from mph to kph so check carefully.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,433
Reaction score
26,748
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
R180 is the latest version I've seen mentioned, don't think they've done anything beyond that
 

Paco268

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
France
I there i tried to update my K1s v3 with latest R180 firmware from http://www.innovv.com/#!the-k1/cm4l but after the upgrade the screen stay white and the unit is no more responsive ...When it starts it sounds and nothing else no display, menu nor video...
Is there a recovery procedure for unbricking ?
Please help
 

Paco268

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
France
What do you mean by elf firmware? i don't have the original firmware which was embedded but only the K1s.bin i downloaded for the update...
 

Paco268

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
France
any chance finding that .elf format somewhere online?
 

Raggety

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
South Africa
Hi Gurus.

New to the dashcams -
Bought an aboiut new K1 from a friend.
How do get the update ( need to change form Mph to Km/h) to the module?
 

agnivohneb

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Koonlung K1S
I have firmware r158 in my K1s but have come across this site http://www.innovv.com/#!the-k1/cm4l which is showing a firmware with r180 and wondered if this is the latest firmware and would it be worth updating and what if any gains should i expect to find. does anybody know if this r180 is the latest firmware or if there are any later versions and if so point me in the right direction to download them as the koonlung site isn't much help concerning firmware
I just installed this firmware. My model came with MPH set as default and I wanted it to be KPH. Mine already had R179 installed so the jump to R180 didn't change anything except the speed units. At least nothing else I can see was changed.

@Raggety you just need to download the firmware at this link and copy the .bin file to your SD card. When you turn on the camera it will ask you if you want to update.
 

agnivohneb

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Koonlung K1S
After further investigation. There are some issues with this firmware.

Issue 1:
Split time will always be 5 min. You can change the setting but when you power cycle the device it is reset back to 5 min. This sucks for me as I want small 2 min clips.

Issue 2:
Lock files are getting mixed up. When I press the panic button the currently recording front camera is locked and moved to the 100 folder. But the previous recording of the back camera is also locked. Not the current back camera or the previous front camera. I can only hope that the files have not already been over written before I am able to get them off.
 

Peter Wilson

Active Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
581
Reaction score
96
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Mini 0801 DashCam and Blackvue DR550GW, iPhone 4S.
After further investigation. There are some issues with this firmware.

Issue 1:
Split time will always be 5 min. You can change the setting but when you power cycle the device it is reset back to 5 min. This sucks for me as I want small 2 min clips.
I fixed issue 1... Take the card out. turn the camera on set the cycle to what you want turn the camera off. format the card, insert and format it in the machine and it stays set at that time. hastle I know. Mines now set on 1 Min.

Issue 2:
Lock files are getting mixed up. When I press the panic button the currently recording front camera is locked and moved to the 100 folder. But the previous recording of the back camera is also locked. Not the current back camera or the previous front camera. I can only hope that the files have not already been over written before I am able to get them off.
I have not managed to fix this. I just take the card out and copy the whole thing to my drive and delete the ones i don't need checking for rear cameras missing files.
 

Mike Atkinson

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone know what's new in this one comparing with the r180 one ?
Resurrecting a very old thread... did you ever get an answer to this?

I've just installed my K1S in a new car and flashed to this version, hoping it fixes all woes, especially the occasional recording stopped/started. I can't see any differences in the menu structure. And I got a recording stopped mid-journey yesterday :-(
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,433
Reaction score
26,748
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Resurrecting a very old thread... did you ever get an answer to this?

I've just installed my K1S in a new car and flashed to this version, hoping it fixes all woes, especially the occasional recording stopped/started. I can't see any differences in the menu structure. And I got a recording stopped mid-journey yesterday :-(
try a different memory card, they're pretty fussy about what cards it will work with
 

Adi Nistor

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
13
Country
Romania
Resurrecting a very old thread... did you ever get an answer to this?
Now, I had no answer. From the software point of view it was ok.

The different topic is that ... i abandoned and changed to a different dash cam, since K1S consumed too much money and negative emotions :( Maybe I will write a review on that. The specs are very nice for K1S, when it works it's a nice dashcam, my problem was that ... it was hard to make it work without problems for a longer period of time ...
 

Mike Atkinson

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for your responses. Yes, the specs are good (or were when I was purchasing a few years ago). But I wouldn't buy again. Fitting is a pain as I need to run five leads from the central unit - although this allows the main camera to be largely invisible and less a theft target. I need regular reformatting of the card to prevent stop/start - although I do this to update speed camera locations. But I really wish I could control the messages and in particular the speed camera warning - it's far too intrusive!
 
Top