Lens gets very hot - design flaw or clever feature?

H-R

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
IBT100-HD, ITB100-SPW
Although I have been using ITB-100HD and ITB-100SPW dashcams for several years without any issues, I have never noticed this.

During some recent testing of various memory cards with constant recordings of upto 48+ hours inside my home (ambient temp. around 20 degrees C) I have noticed by accident how hot the lens had become - in fact so hot that it was borderline to keep touching it (which suggest over 60 degrees C).

The rest of the case was only handwarm (maybe mid 30s Celsius), and the SD card felt a bit warmer still, but not really hot.

Admittedly, one would normally not have continuous recordings run for that long, but I noticed similar temperatures also with much shorter times, like when in parking mode for say 3-4 hours.

This made me wonder why just the lens would be so hot? I can't see how a CMOS sensor would draw much current to explain this. So here I am speculating that it might actually be some clever design idea whereby most of the internal heat is transported to the outside of the enclosure via the lens, which might be in tight mechanical contact with some heat producing internal electronic circuits?

The Itronics dashcams are renowned for their high temperature rating up to 70 degrees Celsius. Could it be that the lens is used as some sort of clever heatsink?

So here I am speculating that it might actually be some clever design idea whereby most of the internal heat is transported to the outside of the enclosure via the lens, which might be in tight mechanical contact with some heat producing internal electronic circuits?

The Itronics dashcams are renowned for their high temperature rating up to 70 degrees Celsius. Could it be that the lens is used as some sort of clever heatsink?