Load pictures

REyewitness

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
276
Reaction score
100
Location
Langley
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
GT200W, GT680W, GT550WS, G1W-C, K6000, SJ4000
How can you load a picture to your post? never seems to work for me.

Are there some size limits or formats?

Thanks
 

Tobi@s

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
1,377
Reaction score
843
Location
Remote
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
none
Or you upload them to your ftp/webserver (or to an image upload service like imgur) and include them using this code:
Code:
[img]http://url.to/img.jpg[/img]
Then the filesize doesn't matter.
 

DashCamMan

Administrator
Joined
Jun 30, 2012
Messages
2,089
Reaction score
1,228
Country
Canada
If the picture is less than 1MB make sure you are using the "Upload a File" button not the picture button. Over 1MB, it won't accept.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,302
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Are the images hosted on your own account when uploaded or elsewhere?

Just thinking about bandwidth, usage etc, is it likely to cause a problem at some stage do you think?
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,788
Reaction score
8,246
Location
Oakland Park, Florida (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
Are the images hosted on your own account when uploaded or elsewhere?

Just thinking about bandwidth, usage etc, is it likely to cause a problem at some stage do you think?

I was thinking the same thing, DashCamMan is being quite generous turning on the feature. I use http://imgur.com/ exclusively.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,642
Reaction score
6,528
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
Is it possible to implement automatic file resize of each picture ? I am lazy always to resize manually ;)
 

parklawn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2013
Messages
663
Reaction score
255
Location
Sudbury, Ontario
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
DR32. Innovv C2, C3 A118C
Is it possible to implement automatic file resize of each picture ? I am lazy always to resize manually ;)

That's a really good question, niko. I have wanted to upload several pictures but they have been too large.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,642
Reaction score
6,528
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
I dont know if DCT platform allow this function, but some other forums can do this. You basically may upload even 10Mb per one picture, but website processes and resizes it to sertain smallwr Mb size set by admin / developer of that website.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,302
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
I dont know if DCT platform allow this function, but some other forums can do this. You basically may upload even 10Mb per one picture, but website processes and resizes it to sertain smallwr Mb size set by admin / developer of that website.

This kind of functionality is a tax on resources though that slows the site down while processing
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,642
Reaction score
6,528
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
This kind of functionality is a tax on resources though that slows the site down while processing

@ tax on resources ? ( my bad English ), - does it mean this add-on cost extra $ for website developer, right ?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,302
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Not money, the same server that we're on would do the processing so it slows the site down anytime it's handling images
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,642
Reaction score
6,528
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
Not money, the same server that we're on would do the processing so it slows the site down anytime it's handling images

Every time I hear word "tax", I instantly associate it with "taxman" who knokcing on your door to collect another stupid tax, like pet tax, or maybe soon they will tax for breathing air ? :)

OK, I see what you mean. And in order to not allow site to slow down when processing images, need to upgrade a hosting account to higher speed ( data processing ) ?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,302
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
even the fastest servers take a hit when processing images, I would think keeping the limits reasonable is a better option, forums are already a heavy burden on server resources
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,642
Reaction score
6,528
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
even the fastest servers take a hit when processing images, I would think keeping the limits reasonable is a better option, forums are already a heavy burden on server resources

Ok. Understood. Will keep resizing manually. Thanks for explanation.
 

DashCamMan

Administrator
Joined
Jun 30, 2012
Messages
2,089
Reaction score
1,228
Country
Canada
Regarding the 1MB limit, it actually hasn't impacted the bandwidth to date and don't think it is a problem. If the site grows, CPU and memory will most likely be the bottlenecks not bandwidth.

There is an option in Xenforo to limit the picture dimensions. Just to test it out, I have increased the attachment size to 5MB and included max picture dimensions of 1920 x 1080. I will see if there is any impact on the server. I believe this will resize the images and reduce the image size, but I haven't fully tested it yet.
 

parklawn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2013
Messages
663
Reaction score
255
Location
Sudbury, Ontario
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
DR32. Innovv C2, C3 A118C
Just tested it with a 2.9MB picture but didn't go through yet.
 

DashCamMan

Administrator
Joined
Jun 30, 2012
Messages
2,089
Reaction score
1,228
Country
Canada
Just tried uploading a 4MB photo and it gave me a server error. I will need to investigate further on what size the system can adequately handle.
 
Top