Looking for BEST quality night time dash cam

Claudine

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi. I'm new to dash cams and am looking to purchase one that works the best at night (as in reading license plates and can tell green arrows from green lights (side by side light). I just bought a Magellen and the green arrow and solid circle light form 1 light, as well as I can't read plates. I do most of my driving at night, so this feature is the most important. A lot of cams had bad plate readings. So far google search has yielded: AmorTek AT-7 and Rexing V6. Both online vids seem good, but I can't find a whole lot of info and unbiased Amazon reviews. I was debating buying both (1 for front, 1 for back) but figured I'd save money by asking on this site instead. I'd rather go with majority views.

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited:
those cameras will be ok at night but not great, look for models that use Sony Exmor CMOS sensor if you want better night performance

Look at the night-time comparison vids posted here for the SG cams vs other types; the SG is something of a standard we use for comparison since it does pretty good at night. And ditto using a Sony CMOS, lesser ones don't compare.

Garmin, Cobra, Polaroid and other similar brands of dashcams usually either under-perform or are overpriced for what they offer or both. People will recognize the name and buy because of that, and that is these companies marketing plan in toto. Better cams are made with lower pricing. Check user-reviews on the forums here, most of us have some experience with dashcams unlike many 'in-house' reviewers found on Amazon or a seller's site. More honesty is found here!

Phil

Can anyone recommend a make/model? So far I've looked into Street Guardian, Thinkware, Panorama. The pic seems really great for all 3- but the plates are blurry (one vid showed plates 2 lanes over, but not the plate in front). These were vids found on Utube and Amazon.