Looking for starting point

ras0787

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys,

There are so many dash cams available I feel a bit overwhelmed as I am just starting out here. I don't already own any so I'm a total noob. I'm hesitant to post this in case I am asking any silly questions. I definitely want to get into it though and I'm seeking some advice on where to start.

I'm looking to get started with something on the cheaper side (I am new after all). I'd like to keep it under $100 if possible. Looking for full HD (1080p is ok with me as I'm on a budget) recording, along with decent audio. I'm ok with clear video during the day and ok-ish at night. The reason I'm looking for decent audio is I'm possibly looking to do some light commentary along with the videos I make. I want something that picks up voice decently so it's clear-ish.

I see the ones with screens and all that stuff but I am nervous that those will somewhat block my view of the road. Folks who own those, do you have any insight on that? Do they take up an obnoxious amount of space?

So what do you guys think? Are there any that come to mind you'd recommend? I've read through the forums and will continue to do so, but it's super overwhelming! Help is very much appreciated!

Thanks all!

EDIT: I drive 60 miles each way to/from work everyday so the camera I get should be able to support a card sufficient to hold a video of at least 3-4 hours. (I don't know if that is crazy legnthwise, please tell me if it is.)

Good evening from Kansas. I've had 2 of the G1 cameras for almost 3 years and they are great. Just bought another today from gearbest for $22. I also have a Yi dashcam and the Old shark dashcam. I still prefer the G1 because of its crisp video and outstanding audio recording. Only buy from gearbest or ebay estore009. I got stuck with an .avi counterfeit last year from ebay. Also the G1cb at gearbest is all black and ya cant hardly see it. Rick