LS360W issues

Sandycat

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I have a new LS360W to replace a budget Nextbase 101.

I do not hardwire my dashcams but use the power socket each trip. With the 101 the unit would power up and start recording straight away and the screen would go off after a minute. When powering off the unit would turn off.

But with the 360 every time I plug it in I get the language and date menus. I have to cycle past these to get to the main screen which then shows its recording. Shouldn't it simply go to the main screen and start recording?

The other problems are that the screen does not turn off. It stays on showing moving images which I believe is illegal in the UK as it's distracting. I have to cover it with the visor. And when I unplug it the cam carries on recording until the battery runs down.

Clearly none of this can be right so am I doing something wrong or do I have a faulty cam?

Thanks.
 
OP
S

Sandycat

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi thanks yes and in fact it uses exactly the same make and model lead that the Nextbase used.
I have since found that the unit does turn itself off after about a minute so that's ok.
But I still need to know why it doesn't go straight to the main screen and why the screen stays lit the whole journey.
Thanks.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,215
Reaction score
1,678
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Hi thanks yes and in fact it uses exactly the same make and model lead that the Nextbase used.
I have since found that the unit does turn itself off after about a minute so that's ok.
But I still need to know why it doesn't go straight to the main screen and why the screen stays lit the whole journey.
Thanks.
Maybe your screen saver is set to off?
 
OP
S

Sandycat

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
I didn't change any other settings but will check later. I assume if it's set to 'on' then that will blank the screen? And also why does it go through the setup menus and not straight to the main screen?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,077
Reaction score
26,472
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
And also why does it go through the setup menus and not straight to the main screen?
even if it looks the same as the old one have you tried it with the included charger?

also worth resetting default settings in the menu and reconfigure in case there's a glitch in the matrix there somewhere
 
OP
S

Sandycat

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks, I will try again tonight and see what happens and let you know.
 
OP
S

Sandycat

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
OK after visiting the DOD site it has confirmed that the screensaver has to be on to turn the screen off !
Also this video helped a lot:
http://dod-tech.co.uk/supportcenter/the-initial-setup/

Hopefully this will resolve the issues as the supplied instruction book is rubbish and doesn't tell you half the info. For example I didn't set up the GPS time zone or confirm options correctly.

There is a much better one here:
https://s3.amazonaws.com/dodtechcanada/Manual/LS360W_EN_Update.pdf

Thanks for the replies I am hoping this will now all be ok.
 

Sutton

Active Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
712
Reaction score
228
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
One SG9665gc.. Two Viofo A119.. Three A119S
OK after visiting the DOD site it has confirmed that the screensaver has to be on to turn the screen off !
Also this video helped a lot:
http://dod-tech.co.uk/supportcenter/the-initial-setup/

Hopefully this will resolve the issues as the supplied instruction book is rubbish and doesn't tell you half the info. For example I didn't set up the GPS time zone or confirm options correctly.

There is a much better one here:
https://s3.amazonaws.com/dodtechcanada/Manual/LS360W_EN_Update.pdf

Thanks for the replies I am hoping this will now all be ok.
Just curious... Do you find that when you want to remove the cam from the mount it is on very tight, so tight that you feel like giving up to remove the cam. It is a troublesome slide off
 
OP
S

Sandycat

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
That bit of fun is still to come......
 

Sutton

Active Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
712
Reaction score
228
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
One SG9665gc.. Two Viofo A119.. Three A119S
That bit of fun is still to come......
@Sandycat In case you forgot to get back to me....Let me know as I wondered if Dod ever corrected that stubborn removal. In fact I broke the plastic part that you need to pinch I got angry and returned it same day never to buy Dod again.
 
Last edited:
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
DaveLC2 DOD LS300 1
niko DOD LS300 18
Top