Lukas Built-In Low-Voltage Cut Off Function Q

VIIVIIIXIII

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
ITB-100HD, SG9665GC, Mobius B & C2, T1, Z970WD
So I got my hands on a LK-9370WD for review (special thanks to Robert @ CDC/LukasDirect).

The Lukas 2 channel dashcams are extremely feature rich, and one thing that really surprised me was the Built-In Low-Voltage Cut Off Function. Normally, you would need an external module to connect between the dashcam and the fusebox during a hardwire installation. I'm assuming this feature eliminates the need for that module.

To take this a step further, I'm wondering if I can use this feature if I choose to power the LK-9370WD via the cigarette outlet. Note: my vehicle has a special cig outlet that will provide constant supply power even after I completely shut the car off and remove my key (it is 24/7 continuous power). Is it possible for the camera detect the battery voltage using this method? I'm not an engineer so I'm entirely sure how the fusebox vs cig outlet works in this regard.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited:
Unfortunately, the Lukas camera needs to be receiving power from a hard-wire kit for this feature to work.

I'd like to give you more information on the specifics of why the cut-off feature doesn't work with the cig. power cable.. I can only speculate that Lukas has decided to not include this feature for [reasons] or that it goes deeper into how the cig. power outlet is inputting/outputting it's power.

Perhaps someone else on the forum knows the answer.. :D

Are you positive that it does not work while plugged in via the cig lighter? I have mine plugged in as well via the cig lighter and the cam stays on 24/7 because the cig port has constant power. With it plugged into the cig port, the camera registers the voltage of the vehicle so I don't understand how it can tell the difference between key on and key off.