Marcus 3 problem

Missouri Trucker

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
I am new with this type of technology, so please bare with my explanation. I drive an eighteen wheeler and recently installed a Marcus 3 to protect my CDL. Here is my problem, some of which I think may be due to not knowing the camera or all of the setup options. During a recent run the camera was recording (red light) and then went to a green light for a minute of so and then back to the red light. It did this for several minutes then it turned off, rebooted, came back into the recording mode red, wherein after several minutes it did the same thing again. Up until this problem it seemed to be working fine, having recorded several runs. Questions:

Does it run a continual loop, recording over itself . . . or do I need to do something to clear the camera for each run? Anybody experience this issue?
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,541
Reaction score
6,421
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
I am new with this type of technology, so please bare with my explanation. I drive an eighteen wheeler and recently installed a Marcus 3 to protect my CDL. Here is my problem, some of which I think may be due to not knowing the camera or all of the setup options. During a recent run the camera was recording (red light) and then went to a green light for a minute of so and then back to the red light. It did this for several minutes then it turned off, rebooted, came back into the recording mode red, wherein after several minutes it did the same thing again. Up until this problem it seemed to be working fine, having recorded several runs. Questions:

Does it run a continual loop, recording over itself . . . or do I need to do something to clear the camera for each run? Anybody experience this issue?
You may first check if you have normal recording or motion detection recording selected. Normal recording is the right way to go with.
 
OP
M

Missouri Trucker

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
You may first check if you have normal recording or motion detection recording selected. Normal recording is the right way to go with.
I will check to see if it is set for normal . . . thanks
 

venezian

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
225
Reaction score
96
Location
Los Angeles
Country
United States
Dash Cam
SG Panorama | SG SG9665GC | SG SG9663DC
I had the same problem and at first it was every now and then it become more frequent. I simply RMA'd through spytec where I purchased from.
 

Blaze9

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2014
Messages
50
Reaction score
5
Country
United States
I'm having the same issue with my marcus 3. It happened after I used a 64gb card. I'm going to try to use a 32gb card and see if that helps.
 

-Pizdys-

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Jul 21, 2013
Messages
149
Reaction score
189
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
better than yours....
please be sure:
1) your 64GB memory card is on exFAT format (no FAT32),
2) you must use genuine power supply (no hard-wire connect etc)
3) does USB mini port (for power) is loose or dirty?
 

Blaze9

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2014
Messages
50
Reaction score
5
Country
United States
please be sure:
1) your 64GB memory card is on exFAT format (no FAT32),
2) you must use genuine power supply (no hard-wire connect etc)
3) does USB mini port (for power) is loose or dirty?
I actually just tried that earlier this morning. Step 1 was what the issue was! Mine was formatted to Fat32. Formatted it with exFat and bingo!

Thanks!
 

venezian

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
225
Reaction score
96
Location
Los Angeles
Country
United States
Dash Cam
SG Panorama | SG SG9665GC | SG SG9663DC
please be sure:
1) your 64GB memory card is on exFAT format (no FAT32),
2) you must use genuine power supply (no hard-wire connect etc)
3) does USB mini port (for power) is loose or dirty?
for # 1, does that only apply to 64GB or all sizes cards? I use 32GB
 

-Pizdys-

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Jul 21, 2013
Messages
149
Reaction score
189
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
better than yours....
1) that only apply to SDXC cards (64, / 128 / 256GB) if you got SDHC (8 / 16/ 32GB) FAT32 is fine.

SDXC - exFAT (64,128,256GB... and bigger capacity up to 2TB)
SDHC - FAT32 (8, 16, 32GB <-max)
 

Similar threads


Top