Maryland Attorney - New to Forum

esqu1re

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello. My name is Wayne. I'm a Maryland attorney, and I'm new to the forum! In a couple of days, I will be posting a blog article about the legal implications of webcams. I will post it in the legal section when it is up! (UPDATE: the blog can be found here as well: http://www.gandwlaw.com/blog/dashcams )

I own a cheap webcam, but stopped using it because it interfered with the FM radio. Also, I work in Baltimore, and the liability of having someone break into the car thinking it is something expensive just wasn't worth it.

I hope I can contribute to this forum with my thoughts on dashcams, which appears to be an evolving legal landscape.

Last edited:
I'd love to know about the legality of dashcams considering I drive in Maryland a lot. Your expertise will be very welcome around here.

Any attorney listed is considered active and in good standing..

are you listed :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Welcome esqu1re

I think discrete is the way to go, an obvious camera can invite problems

I had it mounted high up with the wire tucked into the A-Pillar, but unfortunately, it still stood out.

I'd love to know about the legality of dashcams considering I drive in Maryland a lot. Your expertise will be very welcome around here.

There are a few things you have to watch out for, especially if you are also recording audio.

Any attorney listed is considered active and in good standing..

are you listed :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Sure am! I probably need to put something in my signature that nothing I say should be construed as legal advice and no attorney-client privilege has been established. =D

Welcome esqu1re

Thanks!

Well current small dashcams are the size of a AA battery, and the well designed ones allso dont have the bling bling crome and colors that seem to be popular in some markeds.
Offcourse the layout on / near your windscreen allso have a little to say in how stealthy install you can make.