Mini 0906 vs 0806s

speuk

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been using a mini 0806 for a couple of years now without any issues, or rather none that a card 're format would solve. I'm now looking to add dash cams to two more cars. What is the latest thinking on 0806s and 0906. Is the 0906 now stable and free from overheating issues? How does the Sony sensor compare with the original?

Look forward to your thoughts.
Simon

I have been using a mini 0806 for a couple of years now without any issues, or rather none that a card 're format would solve. I'm now looking to add dash cams to two more cars. What is the latest thinking on 0806s and 0906. Is the 0906 now stable and free from overheating issues? How does the Sony sensor compare with the original?

Look forward to your thoughts.
Simon
0906 is much better at night. (https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/what-do-the-3-headlamp-flashes-mean.30435/)

0906 is only 1080 resolution so in some ways it is not as good during the day, however the more sensitive sensor results in a lot less motion blur so in other ways it is better during the day, especially when cloudy.

0906 has front and rear views conveniently stored on one microSD card - big plus point.

0906 has a capacitor instead of battery, might quadruple its life span although it is not proven yet. You may need to hardwire it to something that doesn't get turned off when starting the engine, I've had a corrupted memory card a couple of times which I suspect was caused when starting the engine with a nearly empty capacitor.

All the issues including heat related ones appear to have been fixed.

Overall the 0906 is a nice replacement for the 0806, very similar fitting and setup, I have no intention of putting my 0806 back although it is still working fine after 2.5 years so it may get used elsewhere.