Mobile Hotspot

OP
B

billk9989

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Location
Arizona
Country
United States
Traveling cross country, 4 day trip. I’m having a problem. I have two SD cards. I power off the unit at the end of the day, take the SD card out so that I can send videos to the family at night. Then I put the other card in and re-plug the power and rear camera so that I can have the unit recording during the night; I push the button to turn on the wi-fi. The camera will not connect to the mobile hotspot, no matter what I try. The mobile hotspot is operating fine. Then I try to connect my phone to the Blackvue wi-fi. It won’t take my password. Next morning I put the first SD card back into the camera and fiddle with it and it finally works. In the meantime I’m not able to do live viewing of during the night, nor do I get notifications - a security concern. I’ve done this twice, so I know that the first one wasn’t a fluke. Am I using an incorrect procedure to get the unit working and connected, with the second SD card?
 

KANNINA 2.0

Active Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
193
Reaction score
118
Location
Tucson, AZ
Country
United States
Dash Cam
BlackVue DR900X-2CH
Traveling cross country, 4 day trip. I’m having a problem. I have two SD cards. I power off the unit at the end of the day, take the SD card out so that I can send videos to the family at night. Then I put the other card in and re-plug the power and rear camera so that I can have the unit recording during the night; I push the button to turn on the wi-fi. The camera will not connect to the mobile hotspot, no matter what I try. The mobile hotspot is operating fine. Then I try to connect my phone to the Blackvue wi-fi. It won’t take my password. Next morning I put the first SD card back into the camera and fiddle with it and it finally works. In the meantime I’m not able to do live viewing of during the night, nor do I get notifications - a security concern. I’ve done this twice, so I know that the first one wasn’t a fluke. Am I using an incorrect procedure to get the unit working and connected, with the second SD card?

You're doing it right so far as I know.

Only way to power these down is to pull the cable at the cam or let it shut itself down via battery protection. Plug it back in to power up again. I always do it with car off, just to be safe. Can't say I know if it matters or not.

Usually when I unplug mine, the car's been sitting long enough that the cam's already shut itself off, and not recording in parking mode.

Definitely seems card-related based on your observation.

Are you reformatting the card each time you pull video off of it before you put it back in? I rotate 4 cards, swap in a new one every 90 days. Every time I put the next one in I freshly format it. No problems so far. I've read that deleting files off of SD cards (vs. copying) can monkey with allocation tables on it and make dashcams do odd things.

The only other thing I can think of is that you may have unplugged your cam while it was recording in parking mode and caused file corruption in that one card. Reformatting with the BV Viewer software on your computer before you replace it should sort that.

I'm sure others will chime in, but trying to reformat or replacing the problem card are about all I can come up with.
 
OP
B

billk9989

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Location
Arizona
Country
United States
Thanks. Well, that fixed it, although I have no idea why…
 
OP
B

billk9989

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Location
Arizona
Country
United States
I have the Verizon 15 gb/mo plan for my mobile hotspot. For the last month I’ve kept my 900X wifi connected to the hotspot, 24x7. I have not used any remote features of the dashcam, such as live viewing. I have not viewed the contents of the SD card. I get a few notifications of a door closing (Impact Detected - why in the hell can’t they set this dashcam up with Parking Mode mode delayed for a minute or so after the ignition is turned-off?). That is all. All of my in-home and mobile devices are set so that there is no auto-join to the mobile hotspot. We have not joined the hotspot a single time this month.

After 30 days all of my plan is used up. That’s 500 mb/day. (I’m beginning to think that my neighbor has figure out my passcode, lol.) I know that I must have some sort of problem with a setting. But I don’t know what it is. Any ideas?
 

Ukraine Visitor

Active Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
194
Reaction score
43
Country
United States
OK, so, if you say you have 15GB/mo and after the month is over it's all used up, then what's the problem? Wasn't using your plan the reason why you got it? In particular, wasn't it because you wanted to use 15GB/mo the reason you ordered 15GB/mo? You are either not providing all the information or I am missing something.
 
OP
B

billk9989

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
29
Reaction score
3
Location
Arizona
Country
United States
This was a test, to see how much cellular data the dashcam uses, in the absence of any other cellular activity. I plan to use the hotspot when we travel for normal internet activity.
 
Top