Need recommendation -- re GPS antenna

dgb

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am relatively new to dashcams, and this site has been very helpful.

I need a recommendation of some cams to consider. Single lens, reasonable night image quality, and mostly the usual features.

My one unusual requirement is that I have a vertical windshield. Because of this I will almost certainly need an external GPS antenna.

Which dashcams of good quality offer / come with external GPS antenna capability.

Thanks in advance.

Dave

GPS reception may not be a problem. My cellphone GPS reception works fine when I hold my cellphone right in front of me, not close to any car window. If you have any GPS enabled device, you might try it holding it where you are considering mounting your dashcam, and note how it performs.

It has been a few years, but when I installed my current stand-alone GPS, the external antenna was required. Even if I held the unit next to the glass it would not work -- just couldn't see the satellites.

More-modern units may work better, but I would hate to invest in a dashcam and not be able to get it to work properly, and not be able to add an external antenna.

The GS8000 has the gps in the actual windscreen mount and so far it works very quickly and strongly in mine. However, I would wait until I have fully experimented and tested it as a dash cam before making a decision based on my experience.

David

Hi Dave,

For external GPS enabled devices, probably the best one is the FineVu CR-500HD but it is expensive. The GS6000 is another option that is similar to the "Orange Menu GS1000" but has external GPS and is larger. The GS8000 is a newer camera that appears to be based on the "Blue Menu GS1000".