New Viofo A139 !

richx

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2018
Messages
372
Reaction score
201
Country
Malaysia
Dash Cam
A129 Duo, A139, Mola N3, A119v2, B4K
It's about who's getting the ad dollars. Now FB controls what people see and think, the ad dollars go there. The news media is just another link in a long feed of noise.
 

Russelluk

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
96
Reaction score
16
Country
United Kingdom
Any issues on cars with the stop/start function ie when you pull up to say at a red light and your engine stops, does the camera go off untill the engines re starts? had this issue with the A129 duo pro not having enough power to run while engine was in the stop/start mode. unlike the none pro A129 duo version the stop/start function did not effect that camera just the pro version.
 

kamkar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
30,214
Reaction score
17,005
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
Generally for this to work in such cars you need a special gadget,,,,,, which i cant remember what is called and where i read about them in here.
But i do think it was @SawMaster that mentioned it.
 

Mtrev

Active Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
197
Reaction score
146
Location
Shropshire
Country
United Kingdom
Generally for this to work in such cars you need a special gadget,,,,,, which i cant remember what is called and where i read about them in here.
But i do think it was @SawMaster that mentioned it.
That’s an interesting point then, I assume the camera is seeing the voltage on the acc drop from the cars charging voltage down to battery voltage while the engine is stopped.
I have stop start disabled on mine anyway but maybe I will turn it on as a test when I’ve hardwired the A139.
 

kamkar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
30,214
Reaction score
17,005
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
I do not have a car like that, but i have plans for acquiring the HW kit and external microphone for my A139

I think dashcam makers be wise to account for stop/start in their hard wire kits
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,302
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Mtrev

Active Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
197
Reaction score
146
Location
Shropshire
Country
United Kingdom
Do you know more about this issue as I’m intrigued?
Is it that the hardwire kits cut the camera when the voltage drops from charging voltage back to battery voltage (~12.5V) or is it because the ignition feeds are often interrupted during starting of the engine?
I assumed the hardwire kits just look for a 12v feed on the acc rather than a charging voltage.
I will do some tests with mine when I get chance.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,478
Reaction score
30,302
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Do you know more about this issue as I’m intrigued?
Is it that the hardwire kits cut the camera when the voltage drops from charging voltage back to battery voltage (~12.5V) or is it because the ignition feeds are often interrupted during starting of the engine?
I assumed the hardwire kits just look for a 12v feed on the acc rather than a charging voltage.
I will do some tests with mine when I get chance.
that module is for cars with stop/start issues, in most cars if it's wired correctly it still works fine with stop/start, there are some exceptions though where something like this is needed
 

kamkar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
30,214
Reaction score
17,005
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
You would think my brain would store a name like latching phantom,,,,,, but no.
 

Mtrev

Active Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
197
Reaction score
146
Location
Shropshire
Country
United Kingdom
that module is for cars with stop/start issues, in most cars if it's wired correctly it still works fine with stop/start, there are some exceptions though where something like this is needed
Oh ok, thanks for that. Will probably behave ok on mine anyway then I would assume although my stop/start is set to default to off anyway. The car still has intelligent alternator control although I think it will still be ok.
 

Russelluk

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
96
Reaction score
16
Country
United Kingdom
Any idea whats the largest Micro SD card this camera takes please. just got one arrived today still sat in its box, not had time to install as yet.
 

kamkar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
30,214
Reaction score
17,005
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
I have not had a 256 GB card in mine yet, but i assume it can handle them.
When i can get my damn piggy bank tallied i will order a 256GB Adata High endurance card ( A2 - V30 - 80 / 100 MB/s ) as i am not sure the slower A1 cards i have are fast enough.
This is a card that have warranty when used in dashcams, which are the kind of memory cards i focus on, it is also one of the cheaper 256 cards here with warranty for dashcam use.
614.png
 

Nath

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
812
Reaction score
474
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
Dual A139-3CH, Dual Viofo A129Pro-2CH
I have not had a 256 GB card in mine yet, but i assume it can handle them.
When i can get my damn piggy bank tallied i will order a 256GB Adata High endurance card ( A2 - V30 - 80 / 100 MB/s ) as i am not sure the slower A1 cards i have are fast enough.
This is a card that have warranty when used in dashcams, which are the kind of memory cards i focus on, it is also one of the cheaper 256 cards here with warranty for dashcam use.
WD Purple 256GB (WDD256G1P0A) works without issues. ;) But 256GB is in the specs so I'd be more interested in the larger ones.
 

kamkar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
30,214
Reaction score
17,005
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
Nice.
I have a 256GB purple card, the Adata one are just to expand on my collection of test cards.
 

joe384

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Messages
518
Reaction score
262
Location
Essex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
2 x DR590W-2CH, Cellink B
256GB Sandisk Extreme is working fine (red/brown card)

It supports up to 512GB I think
 

Ridgeline

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
7
Location
Florida
Country
United States
Based on my experience, I would recommend steering clear of VIOFO .
 

Nath

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
812
Reaction score
474
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
Dual A139-3CH, Dual Viofo A129Pro-2CH
Based on my experience, I would recommend steering clear of VIOFO .
Anything specific to support your opinion? And I'm asking that as an owner of two 129Pro units which weren't what i would expected in case of problems-free dashcam, yes. And two A139 which for now look quite promising (despite few "minor" issues).

I noticed you are not pleased with the old A129 Duo, is that so? I have to admit that Viofo lack a bit in term of firmware updates these days, even for newer cameras.
But part of the problem is probably Covid and Chinese new year.
 
Top