Newbie! Please help me Setup

bolo

Reaction score
Country
Australia
I'm about to receive my mini 0805!

I am a complete newbie to dashcams.

I have a few questions, after having read a number of threads here. If you guys can help that would be great.

1- Can it be hardwired to the car? I believe the answer is no, according to the seller, but maybe it's not right.
2- I know I need to buy a micro ds card. Which type should I get? I see on ebay there are different types (even though they're the same size).
3- I also read here that I need to format the card. How, why? Is that if the card is 32gb too?
4- How many hours of recording at highest resolution can I fit in 32 gb?
5- The seller says it only takes 32gb but other sites say 128. Can anyone explain?
6- Does the cam automatically record over the start when it's full?
7- Should I set the cam to make new clips every few minutes, or just let it go in one long clip?

I'm sure I will have more questions. Thanks for anyone who can help.

1. yes, but don't wire it to a permanent power source
2. buy a brand name card from a reputable seller, Apus or shoppingsquare (both the same seller) are a reliable supplier on ebay, don't buy Sandisk
3. can be formatted in camera, new cards are pre formatted anyway
4. around 4 hours
5. firmware dependant, 32gb is probably the most reliable size though
6. yes when configured correctly
7. it needs to be set to loop, if you do one long clip it will record in 4gb chunks until the card fills up then it will stop

X2 on jokiin

I hardwire mine by connecting an add-a-fuse with loose 12v socket to a fusebox socket energized with igniton and connecting the provided power cord. This powers and protects cam as intended by mfgr. wires easily hidden behind finishes. Easily reversible.

Consider location with respect to radio, antenna and other electronics including gps receiver. Test before closing up.

If gps, be patient with lock.