Night recording WDR ON, 1080p/30fps, EV +2/3

hi

I've just increase the EV to +1/3 with a119s equiped with the CPL in order to see how it will be working.
My experience is that A119S with the default settings as WDR off, 1080p/60fps, EV 0/0 compared to for example Cowon AW1 brings absolutely nothing in term of quality of reading plates (only the colours/saturation is better). very disappointing for the "new" tech vs. "old" tech.

Could be that the a119s is not optimized or not pumping out the best from the hardware it has, including the FW or default setup?!

completely agree that something has to be worked out, if possible with settings then better.

An interesting point is, even I am not a pro, that I've noticed as you that the a119s has TOO dark footage.

I am comparing for example to Cowon.

You can not see it over the day or in the real night conditions. But you can see the HUGE difference in the tunnels or at the beginning of the evening.

@niko has told me that this kind of comparison is not fair, old vs. new tech etc. and he is right, it's logical, but in my case when it comes to the clearness and possibility to read the licence plates, there is absolutely no difference in quality, whatever the speed is, even if those are completely different specs. Day or Night.

Either I'll be able to read plates on both dashcams or I'll not be able to read them , not at all, on both dashcams, a119s included.

So the a119s video is dark, due to the CPL of course, but without the CPL too, so probably increasing the EV will help...I'm afraid to have more blurry effect with increasing EV but we'll see.

I don't know if 60fps vs 30fps helps, or influence the EV settings.

It seems that @jokiin has done the good FW job with the new 9663 and you can see the impressive clearness of numbers on the plates, even in night condition (but here we are with the double budget).

I hope that @viofo will learn from it.