No power to cam

rh71

Reaction score
Country
United States
I purchased the following install kit because it has a right-angle micro USB connector but after hooking it up to a 10 amp fuse, the B1W is not powering on. It does power on via the cig lighter so I know the cam is functioning. I'm an electrical newbie but used a multimeter and there's 12V at the add-a-fuse and some power also going to the micro USB connector - I set the multimeter to 2000m (DCV) and it read as 0.1 volts. Back to 0 when I turn the car off, so that means it's getting power to the micro USB connector when the car is on. Is it not powering the cam because it's not passing enough voltage? This is the kit: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B076F9TQ8L

I know the recommended install kit is this but was hoping to get away with the right-angle connector kit above instead: https://www.amazon.com/gp/B075WPSZYH

Would it make a difference if I used a larger fuse slot like a 30 amp? My kit doesn't come with that size housing so I couldn't try.

Last edited:
Some photos might help, I don't understand what you are doing with the multimeter (2000m does not sound right) and with a photo we could check how you have connected the red and black wires...

I will get pics later when possible, but for right now, I'll just say that the red wire is crimped into the pigtail of the add-a-fuse and the black wire is grounded into a metal screw/plate near the fuse box (under passenger footwell). I mentioned 2000m setting on the multimeter because when I had it set at 20, it read 0 when I touched the micro USB connector to see if it was getting power. Only 2000m or 200m were getting readings. This is all DCV. Should I be reading with DCA instead?