Number plates

peterx666

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am new to the dash cam stuff but having said that I have been looking on Youtube at videos for a couple of months now, and along with discussions with people have come up with a couple of issues that may be contentious but seem to to me to be the main problem areas ;)

Most of the dash cams I have seen are useless - None of the Dash cams I have seen seem to be able to produce what I can see out of my car window - this is what is needed to prove who is at fault in a situation!

1) Most dash cams have one or more problems at night - either to bright, too dull, or washed out - accidents do occur at night so good pictures are needed!

2) You cant see the number plates in focus either in the day or night unless the car is 6 inches from your bumper! To me any footage where I cant see the number plate is useless, what about swipe and run accidents and these insurance scams? To me this is a minimum. I dont want to be in a situation say it was "a little red car" sould be anybody

3) the focal distance on most dash cams is not far enough out - lots of them, even the so called HD models dont work unless the car in front is inside your engine compartment! :lol:

4) To my mind the thing should be a "fit it and forget" job so it needs to be small and hidden otherwise it will get stolen - some of the mountings are huge and stick out like a sore thumb - not so good

5) The price must be cheap unless you are going to use it as a camcorder as well - also it will be obsolete in a couple of weeks so a swap will be needed to keep up with the best technology

6) why would anyone want a dual camera - who wants to see their ugly mug - surly you are just looking at the road?