Opia2 stops recording when I'm stopped with the engine on

rst.ack

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
Country
Australia
I got pulled over by the police today and wanted to review the footage, but to my surprise the cam only recorded the 60 seconds after I came to a stop, and then started recording again as I drove off, missing the couple of minutes of discussion with the officer (which were the most important minutes of the stop).

Right now it's plugged in to the 12-volt cigarette lighter adapter (not the PowerPlus), using a 32GB "Cammsys" micro SD card that came with the camera when I ordered it from Dashcams Australia.

Any ideas about what could have caused this?
 
OP
R

rst.ack

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
Country
Australia
If you mean is Parking Mode enabled with motion sensing, then yes. But why would that mess with the recording with the engine on?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
45,567
Reaction score
24,364
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
the motion detect can timeout when there's nothing happening, you can test this easily by covering the lens and see if it pauses the recording after a minute
 
OP
R

rst.ack

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
Country
Australia
I'll give that a go, but what I meant was: why would the camera be engaging the "parking" mode when the engine is on? When I park, I normally turn the engine off :p
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
45,567
Reaction score
24,364
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
I'll give that a go, but what I meant was: why would the camera be engaging the "parking" mode when the engine is on? When I park, I normally turn the engine off :p
is it a 2 wire or 3 wire power supply, how is the camera wired up?
 
OP
R

rst.ack

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
Country
Australia
So, turning off motion-sensing parking mode solves the original problem of the recording stopping, but now that probably means I have absolutely no protection while my car is parked, right?

is it a 2 wire or 3 wire power supply, how is the camera wired up?
It's plugged into the 12V cigarette lighter plug, not hard-wired.
 
OP
R

rst.ack

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
Country
Australia
Unfortunately not.

This also begs the question - even with a Vico PowerPlus power supply (which would allow parking mode to work with the engine off), wouldn't the problem of the recording stopping while I'm stopped at a traffic light or by police be a problem again?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
45,567
Reaction score
24,364
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Unfortunately not.
ok, so you have no parking mode then, best to leave that turned off so it doesn't time out during normal driving

This also begs the question - even with a Vico PowerPlus power supply (which would allow parking mode to work with the engine off), wouldn't the problem of the recording stopping while I'm stopped at a traffic light or by police be a problem again?
yes that could still be a problem
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
45,567
Reaction score
24,364
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Not that either of us can really do anything about it, IMO that's a significant design flaw
it's the type of thing that is possible to improve in firmware, Vico have stopped doing dashcams though so very unlikely to ever happen I suspect
 
OP
R

rst.ack

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Australia
Country
Australia
Good to know, I didn't know Vico were out of the biz. Thanks for your help.
 

Similar threads


Top