OUMAX RV55HD-M Mirror Dash Camera - Review ( Part A )

old4570

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Front: 70MAI , Ausdom A261, Mini 0826 , Rear: A118c

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

Video information for the mirror cam

image.jpg

Video information for the rear cam

image.jpg

Product Link

Youtube Video

First Impression :

I have never used a mirror cam before and have always wondered . My car has to many cams to the left of the mirror ( camera is located on the left side of this mirror cam ) so I had to put it in my brothers car . Instillation was very easy , especially as the rear cam is powered from the mirror cam . Should you chose to activate / make active the reversing cam , you will need to tap into the reversing lights . Speaking of the rear cam , in normal use it is 480 resolution , it might revert to 720 when you use the cam as a reversing cam , but for normal use it is 480 . So , painless to install and the menu is very simple and easy to set up . I might have to say possibly one of the easiest cams I have set up . Now it actually looks like there might be GPS ? , I will have to try a GPS antenna / receiver and see if there actually is a functioning GPS . That will be latter .

Using the cam :

Once again very un challenging , I was a little surprised at just smoothly the install went . The rear cam particularly , just plug it in and route the cable to the back and use some double sided tape to fit the cam to the rear window . ( Sounds too easy - it actually was just that easy ) . There was plenty of cable , and if anything perhaps a little too much . ( Perhaps not as there are larger cars out there / vans / station wagons )