Overwhelmed by the amount of choices

dord94

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hi all,

I'm new to the dash-cam scene but I've wanted one for a long time. I've finally decided now is the time to get one.

I've spent days looking at reviews, videos, forum posts on here and reddit and reading through any review I can find for any cam that takes my interest. However I can't seem to find a cam that gets consistently good reviews. One post will speak very highly of one cam then another will list of a ton of faults and very few positives.

I don't really need a bunch of features, once the camera is easy to operate so it's not a chore to turn on and start recording. Good video quality and temperature resistance too. However here in Ireland it only goes from -4 Celsius to at max 25 Celsius - and that 25 is a push.
Features such as motion detection ( parking mode I think ) and mobile apps are a bonus.

I've narrowed it down to 3 cams for my budget of €100/£90/$120;

Viofo A119 v2
Thinkware F50 or x330

But as i mentioned earlier, I can't get a solid review on each cam, each review contradicts the other. Can someone please point me in the right direction!

Thanks.

I have bought SG9665GC V3 2 months ago and am happy with it. This forum is full of praise for this dashcam. Why didn't you consider this one. They even have a dual camera set-up newly launched now.

SG9665GC v3 is similar shape/style as V119 but over 100eur budget.
If priority is discrete design within 100eur then I would go with A119. Most important to buy from reputable (preferably local) reseller with good aftersales support.

every single cam make/model will have the occasional faulty cam unit, but if 100 dashcams sell and 5 are faulty, you'll always see the 5 complaints, but you might only see 5 comments of praise, not 95, which to be fair, doesn't help you in your decision