Panorama S (Matte Black) Review

AMOO

Reaction score
Country
United States
Here is a quick review of the PowerUCC Panorama S (Matte Black Edition)

First thing is first. I am relatively new to Dash Cams and was using an “action cam” as my ‘dashcam’ before this (Also had a very short fake G1W tenure). Regardless, I have long reviewed and worked with other car electronics, so I figured I’d do a write up here.

I’m going to be skipping pictures and all videos in this (I may add them later if requested) simply because there are so many out there to look at already. I used a 16GB 40 mb/s SD card from SanDisk, and thus far it has worked well. Formatted it first on the computer, then the camera, before use.

Buying it/Retailer: I bought mine from RoadCam on Amazon (a well known user on the forums). The price was ~$185, plus shipping (~$5.00). It was the “base package” so it included: Power Cable, USB Cable, Camera, Hard Mount, Suction Cup Mount, and user manual. Ordered it on a Sunday night and it came in on a Wednesday morning via 2nd-Day priority. Shipping was prompt, everything stated was included, and packaging was solid. Good seller thus far.

First Impressions: The camera itself is much smaller, and lighter, than it seems in nearly every video and picture. It really is quite a nice surprise, as smaller, and lighter are beneficial for dashcams. Buttons seemed sturdy, and initial click for SD card was solid. The only negative first impression I had was the camera lense was not protected by anything, no cover, or even a film (like the rear screen). I’ve never, ever, gotten any camera that didn’t have this. Furthermore there was a little smudge/residue on the lense. Not a big deal, but I’m shocked a $.01 film isn’t even used on the lense when packaged.