Panorama - View online video on laptop

alexsoll

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Apr 14, 2013
Messages
1,762
Reaction score
1,539
Location
Minsk
Country
Belarus
Dash Cam
Street Guardian, BlackVue, Thinkware
I propose to discuss ways to connect Panorama to the laptop to watch online video.
What details need to buy to watch online video on a laptop?
I think it will be helpful to many.
==============
Panorama
 
Last edited:

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,613
Reaction score
6,505
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
As I understood, you want to connect Pano from its AV out port to your laptop VGA port, so you can use laptop as an external screen ?

I dont know how these days laptops VGA ports work. The one I had 5y ago, VGA port worked only one way by sending signal only out and not inside. Maybe its depends of hardware, or configurations ... ? Lets see what other wise-guys can say about that.
 
OP
alexsoll

alexsoll

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Apr 14, 2013
Messages
1,762
Reaction score
1,539
Location
Minsk
Country
Belarus
Dash Cam
Street Guardian, BlackVue, Thinkware
other choices are possible:
AV - USB port laptop
 

FourEyes

Active Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
237
Reaction score
151
Location
Moscow
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
Mio518,TV-Q5GPS,DEXP_EV-710,Pilot21DVR,GS2000,3xG1W,K6000
Because he wants to?
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,613
Reaction score
6,505
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
A better question is why would someone want to view low res down sampled composite video at home?

This is in case need to adjust lens focus being in the car. Connect Pano to laptop via AV port and see live video playback when at the same time adjusting a lens focus. For this purpose VGA is enough.
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,662
Reaction score
8,101
Location
Oakland Park, Florida (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
This is in case need to adjust lens focus being in the car. Connect Pano to laptop via AV port and see live video playback when at the same time adjusting a lens focus. For this purpose VGA is enough.

Ah ok yes this is a good reason now I understand.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,613
Reaction score
6,505
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
Ah ok yes this is a good reason now I understand.

The question still stays:
is it possible some how to use laptop as an external screen via VGA or USB port ? I am also interested to know this in order to make easier dashcam lens focus adjustment in car by experimenting with different lens on different dashcams.
Does anyone has knowledge about this ?
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,662
Reaction score
8,101
Location
Oakland Park, Florida (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
Does anyone know what cable type (name/plug size) is needed to plug into the panorama? I know it's a very common old school camera cable but don't recall the size and specs to Google. Once we find that out any standard composite video capture card will do. just make sure the drivers are updated to work with latest Mac or Windows etc.

http://www.dx.com/s/Video+capture+USB
(Read comments)

http://www.monoprice.com/mobile/Pro...Id=108&categoryId=10810&subCategoryId=1081003
(Mixed old reviews)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/s/ref=is_box_?k=video+capture+usb
(More expensive ones probably less hassle but $$$)
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,613
Reaction score
6,505
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
Does anyone know what cable type (name/plug size) is needed to plug into the panorama? I know it's a very common old school camera cable but don't recall the size and specs to Google. Once we find that out any standard composite video capture card will do. just make sure the drivers are updated to work with latest Mac or Windows etc.

http://www.dx.com/s/Video+capture+USB
(Read comments)

http://www.monoprice.com/mobile/Pro...Id=108&categoryId=10810&subCategoryId=1081003
(Mixed old reviews)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/s/ref=is_box_?k=video+capture+usb
(More expensive ones probably less hassle but $$$)


I red few dozens reviews but non of them said about ability to use it as live monitoring. They only write about capture and saving.
10$ is not big money. Might buy and test.

As per Panorama, it works with 4pin 2.5mm jack RCA AV cable.
NB! AV cable that has 3 RCA ( Video + audio right + audio left ), on some of them initial correct yellow colour RCA plug is not for video. Try one of audio RCA for video signal from Pano.
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,662
Reaction score
8,101
Location
Oakland Park, Florida (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
I red few dozens reviews but non of them said about ability to use it as live monitoring. They only write about capture and saving.
10$ is not big money. Might buy and test. As per Panorama, it works with 4pin 2.5mm jack RCA AV cable.
NB! AV cable that has 3 RCA ( Video + audio right + audio left ), on some of them initial correct yellow colour RCA plug is not for video. Try one of audio RCA for video signal from Pano.

Good Good (for the cable type)

As far as Live Capture viewing goes maybe start off with trying a few of the open source free ones.

http://obsproject.com/
(watch video on how to change / add capture source

VirtualDub has a Preview mode as well
http://www.virtualdub.org/docs_capture.html

If those don't work here are a list of more free ones
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/sections/capture?orderby=Type
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,613
Reaction score
6,505
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,613
Reaction score
6,505
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
This is a lot of work for lacklustre results, AV out is SD resolution and not suitable for adjusting focus, the focus adjustment is done at full res in a jig with a large screen to view the output

That make sense. You saved me 10 bucks. 1 beer on me ;)

I tried to focus on special focusing grid at home, but each lens need special formula to calculate lens aperture vs other specs in order to get correct distance if focusing at home, so I do it old-school way - in car: focusing, recording, removing SD card, doing playback on PC or laptop then again and again. Thats hard job :(
 
Last edited:

reverend

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2014
Messages
5,660
Reaction score
4,038
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Too many
For HD stuff there are USB solutions out there but the biggest problem is that USB2 doesn't have enough bandwidth to capture natively so I think most of them re-encode on the fly:

http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/intensity/

You can get PCI-e cards for desktop PCs that don't have that problem, but they're not portable so not much use for this!

I guess with the cheap AV Outs you could fit them quite easily also into the back of a car head unit with a display? Mines takes an input but it would be hard work getting the wires into the right places - it was bad enough sorting out the BT audio from mono to stereo!
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,662
Reaction score
8,101
Location
Oakland Park, Florida (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
For HD stuff there are USB solutions out there but the biggest problem is that USB2 doesn't have enough bandwidth to capture natively so I think most of them re-encode on the fly:

http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/intensity/

You can get PCI-e cards for desktop PCs that don't have that problem, but they're not portable so not much use for this!

I guess with the cheap AV Outs you could fit them quite easily also into the back of a car head unit with a display? Mines takes an input but it would be hard work getting the wires into the right places - it was bad enough sorting out the BT audio from mono to stereo!

You missed one important thing, the Panorama 2/S doesn't have HDMI or HD real time Video output for monitoring
 
Last edited:

reverend

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2014
Messages
5,660
Reaction score
4,038
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Too many
Sorry I was meaning for HD stuff in general - like I say I'm guessing with the AV out it's more designed for fitting into car head units maybe otherwise it is a bit strange only giving an SD output!
 
Top