[Poll] Do you use a CPL? Why or why not?

Circular Polarized Lens?

• Yes, I leave one on all the time.

Votes: 3 20.0%
  • Yes, but I only use it when weather/lighting conditions are optimal.

• No, I don't use mine.

• No, I have never used one.

Votes: 6 40.0%

• Total voters

mercaptan

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm trying to gauge the relative usage of CPLs on dash cams (and figure out if they are worth buying).

As an avid photographer I never leave home without one. I've got 5 or 6 in various sizes for my DSLR and know the pros/cons pretty well.

So is the trade off of minimized reflections / more consistent exposure worth having less available light with the CPL?

Please share your comments, thanks!

I think I am going to start using mine again, but I stopped because I was too lazy to take it on and off. I might now just only put it on when it is very sunny out midday.

Never used it as i dont mind the reflections in my windscreen, if i was making travel logs it might be a different thing, but for everyday use i dont need it.

I have some aluminium air vents in the centre of my dashboard and the reflections from them are really annoying and in sunshine completely obscure part of the view so I don't really have much choice other than to use a CPL or paint my air vents black. I always use the CPL as even without the air vents, it still improves the colours and contrast of the image and makes it easier to encode the movement into the video signal freeing space in the data stream for extra detail. The only disadvantage I can see is that it increases the amount of motion blur but when motion blur becomes an issue it normally needs more than just CPL removal to cure the issue.