Problem: RC500s stops recording! :(

alwaysec

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
11
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#1
It worked yesterday for a while and when i started my card just now, the dash cam didnt start. the red Rec light was up with a "sound" and thats it. I tried to reset it for a few times, it still didnt work. it happened yesterday too, but i somehow "fixed" it (or not?) by resetting the cam. Anyone can help me? I actually was trying to record a few footage for the seller because there were dozens of hot pixels in the footage it recorded yesterday and the video quality is quite poor (cant pick up any plate number of the parking cars when I was driving at 20km/h)
 
OP
OP
A

alwaysec

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
11
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#5
LD 32gb (first time to see this brand, never heard of it. but it did work last night).
 
OP
OP
A

alwaysec

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
11
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#7
the card is in fat32. I didnt format the card and it worked yesterday. I formatted my own samsung 64gb on my computer.
 
OP
OP
A

alwaysec

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
11
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#9
format in the camera, computers don't format memory cards correctly without using 3rd party software
cant get the camera work :( ! I did use 3rd party to format my samsung to fat32 (otherwise only exFAT and NTFS available)
 
OP
OP
A

alwaysec

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
11
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#11
The seller has been contacted. Dashcamsaustralia received a footage recorded yesterday.

Do you think it is the micro-sd that caused the issue (Rec indicator is constantly on but nothing else)?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
42,011
Likes
21,655
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
#12
The seller has been contacted. Dashcamsaustralia received a footage recorded yesterday.

Do you think it is the micro-sd that caused the issue (Rec indicator is constantly on but nothing else)?
trying a second card and still having the same problem would lean toward the problem being elsewhere
 
OP
OP
A

alwaysec

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
11
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#13
Dashcamsaustralia suggested me to send back the unit to them or have it tested by DOD. They are based in Melbourne and I live in Sydney, so I wonder if DOD have an office in Sydney where I can pop in today or tomorrow? Bought the dashcam for the Easter holiday :(
 
OP
OP
A

alwaysec

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
11
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#15
Sent the dashcam back to the retailer. Hope they can fix it soon. Bought it for the easter though. Now i have to use the old cheapie G1W-C on my brand new and expensive car :(
 
Last edited:

Rob198600

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2018
Messages
4
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#16
I had the exact same problem and ended up returning the camera to dod for replacement, the new one seems to work ok but for the price you would think they would have done more testing on these!
 

Rob198600

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2018
Messages
4
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#17
And now the replacement is doing the same thing! Fed up with this brand and the constant issues.
 

Rob198600

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2018
Messages
4
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#19
Apparently this is a known issue and there will be a firmware release in early April to fix it, if this doesn’t resolve the constant recording issues the camera will be going back.
 

goz

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2015
Messages
11
Likes
0
Country
Australia
#20
Is it in parking mode, I find mine stops recording cause it won’t get out of parking mode
 

Similar threads

Top