Q800 pro just stopped working, please help

Shiwarrior

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
12
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

My thinkware camera has stopped working

All I hear is GPS connected
Nothing else, cant connect to it on my phone, nothing

Pressed the reset button with a pin

Nothing
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
7,070
Reaction score
6,284
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
Which card are you using? And have you checked it with "h2testw" freeware to verify that is is functioning correctly?

Phil
 
OP
S

Shiwarrior

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
12
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
has been working fine all this time

I have a Sandisk A1 400Gb card

i'll swap cards tomorrow and see if that makes any difference
 

BlackboxMyCar

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
840
Reaction score
411
Location
Vancouver, BC
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Thinkware, BlackVue, IROAD, Viofo, BlackSys
Are you powered on via hardwire kit? If so, try using just the 12V adapter that connects to the vehicle's cigarette socket.
 
OP
S

Shiwarrior

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
12
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks to blackboxmycar

On google I found out how to reset the device

Pressing reset button does nothing


I pulled out the memory card, reset it, then I changed memory card back to thinkware, tried to power it on with buttons and now working

I shall test the memory card out and try it again in the car after tested


I have it connected via cellink and all wired in

Thanks all
 
OP
S

Shiwarrior

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
12
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
i think the card has had it

tried h2testw , got into "writing" after 2h 40 and stopped (i.e. looks like its doing something, but its not)

Formatted it in windows, default size etc, (under exFAT) gets to the end after several hours and says "cant format etc"

Also deleted all the files , but still remain...

worth getting onto Sandisk ?
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
7,070
Reaction score
6,284
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
I've heard from some that SanDisk does check cards out before warranty replacement as their warranties were refused for being out of specified allowed usage, but others have gotten a replacement without delay or hassle even with thew card full of video files. My own approach is to not bother as the loss is small and I'll get a new card rather than waiting on a warranty anyway. But it's worth a try if you want to put forth the effort- the worst they can do is deny your claim ;)

Phil
 
OP
S

Shiwarrior

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
12
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
sandisk have approved my RMA request

I didnt think ill have to send it to Poland !
ah well lets hope they dont charge me a lot lol
 

IAmATeaf

Active Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
147
Reaction score
80
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119v3
It might be that they refuse to warranty the card after they receive it and check it over?
 
OP
S

Shiwarrior

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
12
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Replacement came today
from Poland !
came in a (A3) Cardboard envelope

24 hours from Poland is good going !

Overall turnout is far quicker than i expected especially at this current time
 
Top