Questions About Materials for Front/Rear Cam with 'Parking Mode'

orbotil

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hi there, I am quite new to this dashcam thing and would like to wire a front and rear dash cam in my mid-sized car.

Here is what I have so far for materials:
Here are my following questions:
  • Will the 15ft and 6ft cable be long enough to discreetly wire both the rear and front cameras to the fuse box that is under the steering wheel?
  • Will the ferrite core of the cables fit into the headliner?
  • Are ferrite cores necessary?
  • If I use the Lukas Lk-290 will the dual USB cigarette charger work to power both cameras?
  • Is there a way to switch into "motion detect mode" when the ignition is shut off?
  • What angle of cable adapter should I use (up, right, or left)?
  • How would I be able to position the neodymium magnets into the headliner for mounting?

I think this is a shopping list, & that you haven't bought any of it as yet?

You mention parking mode in the title, so this is an important feature for you. In which case why choose Mobius, when you can buy DashCams with buffered parking mode, that will automatically operate when the ignition is switched off?

Mobius can be configured to enter motion detect mode when external power is cut. But it will only do so powered by its internal battery, which will last only 2 hours. You can only record the aftermath of an incident as, without buffering, Mobius cannot record the incident & the preceding moments. If you install the capacitor kit, you lose this functionality altogether, though you can use an external power bank to power Mobius for many hours.

I think this is a shopping list, & that you haven't bought any of it as yet?

You mention parking mode in the title, so this is an important feature for you. In which case why choose Mobius, when you can buy DashCams with buffered parking mode, that will automatically operate when the ignition is switched off?