real or fake G1WH ? Ordered from Amazon with prime for $55.50 shipped.

Shay.ca

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey everyone. I am new to the dash cam game. I ordered a G1W off ebay and after finding this forum found out the orange box is the fake one... I immediately sent a message to the seller and asked to cancel the order. He was good about it and canceled / refunded me ASAP.

I then found out about the newer version G1WH which was all black, a bit better and had a wider lens so I decided to check that one out. I took a gamble ordering from Amazon because it did not show a picture of the box nor did I know what the real box on the G1WH looks like. I believe this one I got is real but I wanted to check.

The box I got is this one:
2014-06-27172941_zpse6737908.jpg

2014-06-27172953_zps0eb39a81.jpg

2014-06-27173014_zps25de759a.jpg

I did notice the G1WH on the top right is just a sticker which makes me wonder as well.

I made two night time videos which I thought were pretty good which makes me believe I got a real one :)

Highway driving:

City driving:

I got it all mounted tonight and had the wires all hidden through the roof and the a pillar across the bottom dash and able to plug in.

2014-06-27211018_zps89d1e9d6.jpg

Worked out super well and I had just enough cable.

Questions I had about the unit:

1) Did I get a real one?

2) Is there a better mounting system? I found that it seems to be pretty loose. I ended up using a piece of the screen protection and putting it in and then sticking the camera and the mount together, thus it was tighter and worked better.

3) Any tricks on the mount?

4) Is it safe for the camera to stay in the car all day in the sun? Will the camera get damaged if I do not take it out while I am at work and the car heats up?

5) Any recommendations on a case or something for when I do remove the camera from the car. I was thinking about like a case for glasses (I don't wear any so I am not able to test it out.)