Recommedations for interior dash cam for Uber/Lyft driver

j_fo

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dear Gang,
I'm a newbie to the dashcam industry. I have a Kenwood forward facing dashcam installed recently, which I am satisfied with. Now, I'm in the market for an interior rear facing camera to video my passengers and me. This will be for my own personal protection against false claims brought on by immoral riders (yes...it happens). I've seen the Quelimas on Youtube and red a few posts, but I can't figure out which unit has which features come with which model. Before buying a camera, any camera, I'd like to consult the experts on this forum for your recommendation. In short, I'm looking for the following features:
  1. small form factor
  2. loop recording
  3. AV out so I connect it to my Kenwood head unit (I intend to show the riders that they are being recorded and therefore to stop the B.S.)
  4. IR, since I do most of my driving at night
  5. microphone that can catch the dialogue from the back seat, and not just the road noise and the driver's voice
  6. preferably 6x9 aspect ratio and high resolution
I have a good installer that can hard wire everything.
I'd appreciate any feedback you guys may offer.
Kind regards,
J_fo

#3 :)(y)
#6 AV out will probably be 4:3 format and analog TV signal quality, your main unit might do scaling on it to get it up to 16:9, the recorded video are of course 16:9 HD video.
/me no recommendations to share in regard to Uber/Lyft cameras or if the current models have AV or HDMI out, these outputs seem to slowly go bye-bye from dashcams.

#3 :)(y)
#6 AV out will probably be 4:3 format and analog TV signal quality, your main unit might do scaling on it to get it up to 16:9, the recorded video are of course 16:9 HD video.
/me no recommendations to share in regard to Uber/Lyft cameras or if the current models have AV or HDMI out, these outputs seem to slowly go bye-bye from dashcams.