Recommendation for basic use (driving + parking)

dctx

Reaction score
Country
Italy
Hello,

I am a complete newbie to dashcams, but in the last months two events happened that make me want to use dashcams myself to protect myself and my home's two cars:

One of the cars is usually parked ~300 m away from home on public parking areas inside a residential area, as in the yard in front of home there is only room for one car (spouse's one), and there are no other parking areas nearby.

About seven weeks ago, I got an SMS from the provider of car telelocating service (telelocator installed by myself as aftermarket device provided by my insurance company) that there was an irregularity with the service and maybe the car battery had died. I went to look at the car, and everything seemed ok, but it were busy days, and I did not have the time to dig into the problem. On the weekend, I went to see what happened, and the telelocator box (it was the second time I mounted one, and have been no issues whatsoever with the first one) had one of the cables to the battery dismounted. The cable looked like ripped out from the telelocator. After calling the telelocator provider (which tried to blame the problem on me due to improper installation) I was sent to an authorized dealer who then fixed the cable, which also blamed it on me, but I got it fixed. My guess at the time was of a small animal getting inside the compartment, but I did not understand why I could not find any counterpart to the broken cable.