Removing SD card while powered. Safe or not?

WeedeaterDM

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
116
Location
Orlando, Florida
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Starting a collection
I like to remove my SD car once in a while to transfer videos. It is a pain unplugging the power and plugging it back in each time I swap cards. I have been thinking about cutting off the plastic cover in order to remove the card without unplugging the power. If I do this, I could install a power switch if it is bad to remove it powered. But I am one that would forget to turn the switch back on.
 

Dashmellow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
12,341
Reaction score
13,283
Location
Uncanny Valley (●_●)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
numerous
It is unwise to remove a memory card from a dash camera that is powered ON. You risk corrupting the files on the card as well as possibly damaging the memory card itself.
 

DT MI

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
5,218
Reaction score
4,056
Location
Michigan
Country
United States
Dash Cam
More than my wife thinks I need.
^^^ totally agree - almost certain to cause some corruption at a minimum.
 
OP
WeedeaterDM

WeedeaterDM

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
116
Location
Orlando, Florida
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Starting a collection
Guess I'll do the switch install. I remember seeing a post someplace on this forum where someone installed a simple plug in switch. Won't be hard for me to find. Thanks for the input.
 

M8TJT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2018
Messages
949
Reaction score
443
Location
Bexhill, East Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Blackvue 550 2CH, 2x750 2CH & Nextbase 312GW
What's difficult about unplugging the power connector? Must be easier than wiring in a switch.
The really fiddly bit is getting the card in and out isn't it?
 
OP
WeedeaterDM

WeedeaterDM

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
116
Location
Orlando, Florida
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Starting a collection
What's difficult about unplugging the power connector? Must be easier than wiring in a switch.
The really fiddly bit is getting the card in and out isn't it?
The plug is very tight going in and out. I am always afraid of bending or breaking something. With the cover flipped out of the way and the power plugged in, the sd card is not much more difficult to remove than it already is. I like how the thinkware has a power button and easy card access.
 

Rocketvapor

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2016
Messages
165
Reaction score
97
Country
United States
Weedeater,
Power and Recording might be the confusion point here.
Removing an SD card while data is being written (recording) WILL result in an incomplete file on the card.
This MAY corrupt the directory and make the card unusable.
Power on but the device is not accessing the card should not be a problem.
Best to turn off the device with the power cord still connected as the cord connected to the vehicle provides some static protection via the ground return.
 

Dashmellow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
12,341
Reaction score
13,283
Location
Uncanny Valley (●_●)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
numerous
Weedeater,
Power and Recording might be the confusion point here.
Removing an SD card while data is being written (recording) WILL result in an incomplete file on the card.
This MAY corrupt the directory and make the card unusable.
Power on but the device is not accessing the card should not be a problem.
Best to turn off the device with the power cord still connected as the cord connected to the vehicle provides some static protection via the ground return.
I'm not 100% sure if this camera has a physical ON/OFF switch.
 

Rocketvapor

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2016
Messages
165
Reaction score
97
Country
United States
Does it have a 'non recording' mode?
 
OP
WeedeaterDM

WeedeaterDM

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
116
Location
Orlando, Florida
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Starting a collection
Power and Recording might be the confusion point here.
Removing an SD card while data is being written (recording) WILL result in an incomplete file on the card.
This MAY corrupt the directory and make the card unusable.
I already know it can mess up a file if removed during recording, that is common sense. I was just worried about if it could damage something, like the card or the camera. Decided I am going to install a switch for when I change out cards.

I'm not 100% sure if this camera has a physical ON/OFF switch.
So far the Blackvue cameras I have looked at have not had a built in power button. That is one of the very few features I like about the Thinkware. The other is easy card access.

Does it have a 'non recording' mode?
Anytime the Blackvue is powered, it is recording. It may not be writing to the card every second, but there is no way to tell when it is not. So I'll be installing a switch

Not in any kind of hurry. The Jeep is only used on the weekends right now to go shopping. The 128gb card can handle 30 plus hours.
 

Hillbilly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
1,747
Reaction score
252
Location
Sunshine Coast
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
DR750s x2 DR450 x2
If you really want to take the cover off and leave the card slot exposed then you can take it out without removing the power cable. If you have the ignition off the camera will be turned off anyway so whats the problem.
If you have a Power Magic turn it off also Problem solved


Tell us how the camera is powerd and we will know the correct solution
 
OP
WeedeaterDM

WeedeaterDM

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
116
Location
Orlando, Florida
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Starting a collection
If you really want to take the cover off and leave the card slot exposed then you can take it out without removing the power cable. If you have the ignition off the camera will be turned off anyway so whats the problem.
If you have a Power Magic turn it off also Problem solved
Problem already solved, the plan is to remove the cover so I don't have to unplug the power. Then install a switch because I am not removing the glove box each time I want to turn it off at the PMP.
 

Similar threads


Top