Replacement for BlackVue DR500GW-HD

Yeshua

Reaction score
Country
Belgium
Dash Cam
VIOFO A129 Pro
I've been using my BV since 2014 in 2 different cars. Still pretty satisfied, but I'm looking for something with a sharper image. I've looked at DR750X and DR900X, but I'm under the impression the image could be better and they're pretty pricey, even more if you want a larger microSD.

What I want (some things pretty obvious):
- G-sensor
- loop recording
- microSD
- 4k (or 1080 at 60fps?)
- heat resistant (BV can go up to 70°C, never failed me in all those years and I need it since my car is parked outside)
- overall, a good quality image, day and night
- CPL filter, if needed (this STARVIS sensor seems interesting)
(- microphone)

Not really necessary:
- screen (BV connects to my smartphone through WiFi which is fine)
- parking mode
- cloud capability
- doesn't have to be BlackVue

I have a budget of around 500 to 600 euro. Any suggestions?

The upper end of Viofo's cam range has some of the best video quality you can get today, and worth their price. Blackvue has never been known to approach that level though some of their cams do quite good with this. Then there are Street Guardian's cams, great in high heat but not the top in resolution numbers. They are the best you'll find for the resolution they use, matching or exceeding the vid quality of a lot of cams having higher specs. A bit costly but the quality and support is worth it. Blackvue abd Thinkware do some good cams still, but you pay a lot for their advanced features- you decide if they are for you.