Andy McKay

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A129 Duo
Dashcam people,

I'm new to dashcams, and I have a couple of questions:

I just recently purchased a V1 dashcam, the GPS receiver, and the smart hardwire kit.

Before installing I checked the firmware of my unit and updated so that the parking monitor menu item was available.

I found my switched and unswitched fuse locations (both empty, vehicle: 2016 Mini Clubman) in my fuse panel and a good ground. I ran the wire, hiding it along the way and plugged the yellow wire into a constant source and the red into a switched source, and connected the ground, as directed by the labels on the wires and the Rexing video online.

I then plugged in mini USB end into the camera. The camera powers on and things looked ok. However, when I power the car off, the plugged in icon remains in the lower right of the screen and the unit never goes into what I assume should be a low power mode. It just continues recording.

If I switch the red to a constant and the yellow to a switched source, when I switch off the vehicle the camera turns off after the specified time setting and if I knock on the camera to trigger the parking monitor mode the camera comes on and records a 20 seconds clip and then turns back off. The icon in the lower right shows what looks like a battery meter icon.

The manual does not cover the parking mode or the smart hardwire kit, so I'm not exactly sure what behavior I should be seeing, but it does seem like the first option would just run my battery down eventually and record 24/7 needlessly.

The camera I purchased was:

The smart wire kit I purchased was:

L

Thanks.

Welcome to DCT @Andy McKay :)